WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Ana Konjuh vs Shuai Zhang Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Stream for San Jose Open

Ana Konjuh will be looking to continue her winning streak against Shuai Zhang in the quarter-finals at the 2021 San Jose Open.

Shuai Zhang vs Ana Konjuh
Shuai Zhang vs Ana Konjuh

World number 116 Ana Konjuh will be up against World number 51 Shuai Zhang in the quarter-finals of the Silicon Valley Classic on August 6th, 2021.

Match Details: Ana Konjuh vs Shuai Zhang

  • Tournament: Silicon Valley Classic 2021
  • Match: Ana Konjuh vs Shuai Zhang
  • Round: Quarter-final
  • Date: August 6th, 2021
  • Prize Money: $21,330
  • Venue: San Jose, California, USA
  • Surface: Outdoor Hard Court

Ana Konjuh vs Shuai Zhang: Preview

Ana Konjuh
Ana Konjuh

The young 23-year-old, Ana Konjuh has won one title on the WTA Tour which she won in 2015 and reached a career-high ranking of 20 in 2017 after Wimbledon. However, in September 2017, she underwent surgery on her right elbow which put her out of the top 500 and eventually, top 1000. In San Jose, Riske was seeded number 4 in the qualifiers and eased through her two qualifying matches in straight sets.

In the round of 32, Konjuh sealed an impressive win after defeating World number 52, Marie Bouzkova in three sets, 7-5, 3-6, 7-5. In the round of 16, Konjuh stunned number 9 seed, Alison Riske, in straight sets, 6-1, 6-4. Riske failed to break Konjuh’s serve even once while, Konjuh broke the American thrice to take the win.

Shuai Zhang reached a career-high ranking of 23 in 2016 and has won 2 WTA Tour titles with her first title being won in 2013. Zhang last played at San Jose in 2019 where she lost in her first match, the round of 32, against number 8 seed, Danielle Collins in three sets, 4-6, 7-5, 2-6.

In the 2021 Open, she has already made a better impression by reaching the quarterfinals. In the round of 32, Zhang dominated on the court and beat wildcard, Emma Raducanu in straight sets, 6-3, 6-2. In the round of 16, Zhang overcame world number 26 and number 3 seed, Madison Keys in straight sets, 7-5, 7-6 (7-5).

Ana Konjuh vs Shuai Zhang: Head to Head

Shuai Zhang will be at the WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021
Shuai Zhang

This will be the 3rd match between the duo who last met in 2017 in Dubai where Konjuh took the win in straight sets, 6-0, 6-1. Konjuh currently leads their head to head tie, 2-0.

Ana Konjuh vs Shuai Zhang: Prediction

Ana Konjuh
Ana Konjuh

Shuai Zhang has not had her best year on the tour so far with a 10-14 win-loss record. On the other hand, Konjuh has been able to impress many with a 29-16 win-loss record this year. While Zhang has more experience, Konjuh looks in better form and will come into this match will a lot more confidence knowing she has defeated Zhang in every match they have played.

Match Prediction: Konjuh to win in three sets.

Ana Konjuh vs Shuai Zhang: Live Streaming and Where to Watch

Match Timings:

  • Japan: 8:30 am (August 7th)
  • Delhi: 5:00 am (August 7th)
  • New York: 7:30 pm
  • Melbourne: 9:30 am (August 7th)
  • Brazil: 8:30 pm

Official Broadcasters:

The Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic is broadcast live on Tennis Channel and streamed on Tennis Channel Plus. It will also be televised by ESPN.

Also read: WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Elise Mertens vs Yulia Putintseva Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Stream for San Jose Open