Laver Cup 2021: Daniil Medvedev vs Denis Shapovalov Preview, Head to Head, Prediction and Live Stream

US Open champion Daniil Medvedev will face Denis Shapovalov at the 2021 Laver Cup in the last singles of Day 2.

Daniil Medvedev vs Denis Shapovalov
Daniil Medvedev vs Denis Shapovalov

Team Europe’s Daniil Medvedev will be up against Denis Shapovalov of Team World in the last singles match of Day 2 of the 2021 Laver Cup. Medvedev is ranked 2nd in the world while Shapovalov is the World No.12.

Daniil Medvedev vs Denis Shapovalov: Match Details

  • Tournament: Laver Cup 2021
  • Match: Stefanos Tsitsipas vs Nick Kyrgios
  • Round: Round-Robin
  • Date: September 25, 2021
  • Venue: Boston, USA
  • Surface: Indoor Hardcourt

Daniil Medvedev vs Denis Shapovalov: Preview

Daniil Medvedev
Daniil Medvedev

Daniil Medvedev has been one of the most dominant performer this year. He started his year with a runner-up finish at the Australian Open and has dominated the hard courts like no one else. In the North American swing, he won the Toronto Masters and reached the semifinal of the Cincinnati Masters. He then denied Djokovic a chance to create history by winning the US Open, his maiden major.

As for his opponent, Denis Shapovalov, he was in amazing form this grass season. He reached the semifinals at Queen’s and then made it to the semifinal once again at Wimbledon where he lost to eventual champion Novak Djokovic. But ever since that, he lost his first match at the Swiss Open, Toronto Masters and Cincinnati Masters. He then reached the third round of the US Open where he lost to Lloyd Harris.

Daniil Medvedev vs Denis Shapovalov: Head-to-Head

Denis Shapovalov
Denis Shapovalov

This will be the fourth meeting between the duo. Shapovalov leads the H2H 2-1. They last met at the Tokyo Open in 2018 where Medvedev won in straight sets.

Daniil Medvedev vs Denis Shapovalov: Prediction

Daniil Medvedev
Daniil Medvedev

Daniil Medvedev will go into the match as an outright favorite. He has been the best player on hardcourts this season and the fast courts of Boston will suite his gamestyle. Shapovalov has though beaten the Russian and knows how to do it. But if he’s to come anywhere near in beating him, the Canadian will have to play his best game. Having said that, Medvedev should cruise easily.

Prediction: Medvedev to win in straight sets.

Daniil Medvedev vs Denis Shapovalov: Timings, Live Streaming & Where to Watch

  • Japan : 8:00 am (Sept 26)
  • Delhi: 4:30 am (Sept 26)
  • London: 12:00 am (Sept 26)
  • Boston: 7:00 pm
  • Melbourne: 9:00 am (Sept 26)
CountryOfficial Broadcaster
USATennis Channel
ItalyEurosport
SingaporebeIN Sports
IndiaSony Sports
Middle EastbeIN sports
GermanyEurosport
FrancebeIN Sports
SpainEurosport
United KingdomEurosport

Also read: Laver Cup 2021: Stefanos Tsitsipas vs Nick Kyrgios Preview, Head to Head, Prediction and Live Stream