WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Elise Mertens vs Yulia Putintseva Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Stream for San Jose Open

Elise Mertens and Yulia Putintseva will clash against each other for the 3rd time in the quarter-finals at the 2021 San Jose Open.

Elise Mertens vs Yulia Putintseva
Elise Mertens vs Yulia Putintseva

World number 17, Elise Mertens will be up against World number 35, Yulia Putintseva in the quarter finals of the San Jose Open on August 6th, 2021.

Match Details: Elise Mertens vs Yulia Putintseva

  • Tournament: Silicon Valley Classic 2021
  • Match: Elise Mertens vs Yulia Putintseva
  • Round: Quarter-final
  • Date: August 6th, 2021
  • Prize Money: $21,330
  • Venue: San Jose, California, USA
  • Surface: Outdoor Hard Court

Elise Mertens vs Yulia Putintseva: Preview

Elise Mertens
Elise Mertens

Elise Mertens has had an exceptional career, reaching a career high ranking of 12 in 2018 and winning 6 titles on the WTA Tour, including one title this year at the Gippsland Trophy. Mertens played at the Silicon Valley in 2018 and 2019 where she was seeded number 4 and 3 respectively. In 2018, she reached the semi-final where she eventually lost to number 5 seed, Mihaela Buzarnescu in three sets, 6-4, 3-6, 1-6. In 2019, she lost in her first match, in the round of 16 against Kristie Ahn in straight sets, 3-6, 3-6. This year round in 2021, Mertens is seeded number 1 and has made it through to the quarter-finals. In the round of 16, she triumphed over Kristina Mladenovic in three sets, 6-2, 4-6, 6-4.

Yulia Putintseva reached a career high ranking of 27 in 2017 and has won 2 titles on the WTA Tour, including one this year. At the San Jose Open, she is seeded number 8 and has got off to a good start. In the round of 32, Putintseva had a 78% first serve record and converted 4 of her 9 break opportunities to take the win over Donna Vekic in straight sets, 7-5, 6-3. In the round of 16, Putintseva played a thrilling three set match against Australian, Ajla Tomljanovic with a difference of just 3 total points won at the end of the match. Tomljanovic had an astonishing 17 break point opportunities but was only able to convert 2, whereas, Putintseva converted 3 of her 6 break point opportunities to take the win, 3-6, 7-5, 6-3.

Elise Mertens vs Yulia Putintseva: Head to Head

Yulia Putintseva
Yulia Putintseva

This will be the 3rd match between the duo who last met in 2020 at Doha where Putintseva took the win in three sets, 4-6, 6-3, 6-2. Their head to head is currently tied at 1-1.

Elise Mertens vs Yulia Putintseva: Prediction

Elise Mertens
Elise Mertens

Mertens has a great win-loss record for this year at 24-12 across all surfaces and a 65% win record on hard court throughout her career and a 13-4 record this year on hard court. She also won a title on this surface earlier this year in February and has won 4 out of her 6 titles on hard court. On the other hand, Putintseva has a win-loss record of 19-16 this year and a 45% win record on hard court with a 6-7 win-loss record on hard court this year. Both the titles she has won has been on clay court and thus, her dominant area is not hard court.

Match Prediction: Mertens to win in straight sets.

Elise Mertens vs Yulia Putintseva: Live Streaming and Where to Watch

Match Timings:

  • Japan: 4:15 am (August 7th)
  • Delhi: 12:45 am (August 7th)
  • New York: 3:15 pm
  • Melbourne: 5:15 am (August 7th)
  • Brazil: 4:15 pm

Official Broadcasters:

The Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic is broadcast live on Tennis Channel and streamed on Tennis Channel Plus. It will also be televised by ESPN.

Also read: Silicon Valley Classic: Daria Kasatkina vs Magda Linette Preview, Head to Head, Prediction and Live Streams for San Jose Open