Rogers Cup 2021: Gael Monfils vs Frances Tiafoe Preview, Head to Head, Prediction and Live stream for Canada Masters

Newlywed and former world number 6 Gael Monfils goes in search of his 11th singles title as he faces American Frances Tiafoe in the Rogers Cup 2021 Round of 16.

Gael Monfils vs Frances Tiafoe
Gael Monfils vs Frances Tiafoe

World number 22 Gael Monfils takes on World no. 52 Frances Tiafoe in the Round of 16 of the Rogers Cup 2021.

Gael Monfils vs Frances Tiafoe: Match details

  • Tournament: ATP-1000 Rogers Cup
  • Match: Gael Monfils vs Frances Tiafoe
  • Round: Round of 16
  • Date: August 12th, 2021
  • Prize Money: $74,000
  • Venue: Toronto, Canada
  • Surface: Outdoor Hard Court

Gael Monfils vs Frances Tiafoe: Preview

Gael Monfils
Gael Monfils has amassed 10 ATP titles so far

Thirty four year old Frenchman Monfils has been ranked as high as No.6 in the World. He has ten ATP Titles to his credit and is well known for his exceptional athleticism and entertaining brand of tennis. This year, he has played only a handful of tournaments. He started the year with a first round exit at the Australian Open, and then followed that up with another first round exit this time at the Italian Open.

In the Lyon Open when he beat Thiago Seyboth Wild of Brazil, he recorded his first victory on tour in fifteen months after eight consecutive defeats. At Wimbledon, he was knocked out in the second round by Pedro Martinez and coincidentally so was his partner, Elina Svitolina.

Tiafoe lost in the final round of the qualifiers but got an entry as Lucky Loser due to the withdrawal of Sebastian Korda. He had a good run in the Wimbledon where he reached the round of 32. He had beaten the French Open runner up, Stefanos Tsitsipas in the first round of the Wimbledon.

The American was knocked out of the first round of the Washington Open as he lost to Jenson Brooksby with a scoreline of 7-6, 7-5. In his Round of 32 clash, he ousted number 5 seed Denis Shapovalov in straight sets, winning 6-1, 6-4.

Gael Monfils vs Frances Tiafoe: Head to Head

Frances Tiafoe
Frances Tiafoe shocked Denis Shapovalov in the Round of 32.

Gael and Frances have faced off once in their career before and the meeting came at the Cincinnati Masters back in 2019. Tiafoe emerged victorious and advanced to the Round of 32 and hence holds a 1-0 Head to Head advantage.

Gael Monfils vs Frances Tiafoe: Prediction

Gael Monfils
Gael Monfils has had a torrid time on the court of late.

Monfils has had quite a month or two, getting tied with Elina Svitolina and then going to the Olympics, where he was knocked out in the opening round itself by Ilya Ivashka. He has been very on and off meanwhile Tiafoe is in great form. Francis has a 24-18 win-loss record in 2021, 11-8 on hard courts. Gael, meanwhile, has a terrible 4-10 win-loss record in 2021, 1-3 on hard.

Prediction: Frances Tiafoe to win in straight sets.

Gael Monfils vs Frances Tiafoe : Live Streaming & Where to Watch

  • Japan : 5:00 am
  • Delhi: 1:30 am
  • New York: 4:00 pm
  • Melbourne: 6:00 am 
  • Brazil: 5:00 pm

CountryOfficial Broadcaster
IndiaEurosport
USATennis Channel
NetherlandsZiggo
EuropeEurosport
JapanWowow
AustraliaBeInsports
ChinaIqivi
GermanyAmazon Prime video
FranceEuro sport
CanadaESPN

Also Read: Who is Elina Svitolina’s husband? Know all about Gael Monfils