REVEALED! Rafael Nadal, Carlos Alcaraz earn nominations for the year-end ATP Awards

Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray, Carlos Alcaraz feature in the year-end nominations for ATP Awards.

Carlos Alcaraz, Rafael Nadal
FirstSportz News

The end of yet another incredible tennis season is upon us, as tennis stars will take a breather before they return for next calendar year. Like every year, ATP has released a shortlist of nominees for different categories of awards it presents to honor players and coaches.

The likes of Carlos Alcaraz, Cameron Norrie, Rafael Nadal have all been nominated in various categories for the year-end awards. There are a total of five awards, for which four nominees have been shortlisted in each category. Carlos Alcaraz, Cameron Norrie, Aslan Karatsev and Casper Ruud have been nominated for the award of the ‘Most Improved Player of the Year.’

Carlos Alcaraz has been one of the breakthrough names on the tour this season, with his US Open quarterfinal run being one of the highlights of the season. As for others, Casper Ruud has had quite an eventful year, which saw him qualify for the Nitto ATP Finals in Turin.

Casper Ruud has also earned a nomination in the category for Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award of the year, alongside likes of Frances Tiafoe, Rafael Nadal and Felix Auger Aliassime. As for Rafael Nadal, he has not played much tennis this season, but his on-court conduct has earned him a nomination in this category once again.

Find Out: The nominees for year-end ATP Awards

Andy Murray
Andy Murray

Daniil Medvedev had an extraordinary season this year, which saw him reach the finals of Australian Open 2021. Moreover, he managed to end Novak Djokovic’s unbeaten streak in Grandslams, as he defeated him in the finals at Flushing Meadows. Gilles Cervara, Medvedev’s coach has earned a nomination for the Coach of Year Award.

The nominations in various categories:

Most Improved Player of the Year Nominees-

  • Carlos Alcaraz
  • Cameron Norrie
  • Aslan Karatsev
  • Casper Ruud

Newcomer of the Year Nominees-

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award of the Year-

  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Rafael Nadal
  • Felix Auger Aliassime
  • Casper Ruud

Comeback Player of the year Nominees

  • Andy Murray
  • Mackenzie McDonald
  • Jack Sock
  • Thanasi Kokkinakis

Coach of the Year Nominees

  • Giles Cervara (Medvedev)
  • Christian Ruud (Ruud)
  • Juan Carlos Ferrero (Alcaraz)
  • Facundo Lugones (Norrie)
  • Craig Boynton (Hurkacz)

Also Read: “Longer you are away, the harder it is to come back” Boris Becker sceptical about Roger Federer’s comeback