Canadian Open 2022: Jessica Pegula vs Asia Muhammad Live Stream, Match Timings, Prediction, and Preview

In the second round of the 2022 Canadian Open, Jessica Pegula vs Asia Muhammad will lock horns in an all-American clash in what will be their first-ever meeting.

Jessica Pegula vs Asia Muhammad
FirstSportz News

Seventh seed Jessica Pegula will square off against Asia Muhammad in the second round of the Canadian Open on Wednesday.

Jessica Pegula vs Asia Muhammad: Match Details

  • Tournament: Canadian Open 2022.
  • Match: Jessica Pegula vs Asia Muhammad
  • Round: Round of 32
  • Date: 10th August 2022
  • Venue: Montreal, Canada
  • Surface: Hard
  • Prize Money: $2,697,250

Jessica Pegula vs Asia Muhammad: Preview

Asia Muhammad
Asia Muhammad

Pegula’s terrible start to the year included early defeats in the Sydney International and the Melbourne Summer Set 2. She made it all the way to the quarterfinals of the Australian Open before being defeated by eventual winner Ashleigh Barty. Pegula regained her form in the Miami Open after a string of unsuccessful performances, however, she was defeated by Iga Swiatek, 6-2, 7-5, in the semifinals.

The 28-year-old competed in the Madrid Open final but had to settle for second place behind Ons Jabeur. Although she continued to play well on clay at Roland Garros, she was defeated by Swiatek in the quarterfinals. After losing to Daria Saville in straight sets at the Citi Open, Pegula is off to Toronto.

Asia Muhammad fought her way through the qualifying rounds of the Canadian Open with hard-fought wins over Andrea Petkovic and Donna Vekic. She shocked Madison Keys 7-6(5), 6-4 in the first round.

Pegula and Muhammad have never faced each other on the WTA tour.

Jessica Pegula vs Asia Muhammad: Prediction

jessica pegula - FirstSportz
Jessica Pegula

The World No. 7 possesses a powerful forehand and moves well around the court. Pegula’s mental strength is a great asset; she rarely panics and trusts in her ability to maneuver out of difficult situations. Muhammad has already exceeded expectations in Toronto. She will head into the match against Pegula under no pressure, making her a potentially dangerous opponent. The 31-year-old has a decent serve and good hands, owing to her vast doubles experience. That said, Pegula shouldn’t face too much difficulty advancing further in the tournament.

Prediction: Pegula to win in straight sets.

Also read: “I’m going to miss that version who carried me to so many wins and trophies” Serena Williams reveals that retirement was a tough decision to make after a glorious career

Jessica Pegula vs Asia Muhammad: Broadcast and Live Stream Details

  • USA – Tennis Channel 
  • UK – Amazon Prime Video 
  • Australia – beIN Sport
  • France– Eurosport
  • Italy– Sportcast
  • Germany– Sky Deutschland
  • Spain– Telefonica 

Jessica Pegula vs Asia Muhammad: Match Timings

  • Melbourne– 2:15 AM (11th August)
  • Paris– 6:15 PM
  • London– 5:15 PM
  • New York– 12:15 PM
  • Toronto– 12:15 PM
  • India– 9:45 PM

Also read: “There will be no one like you. Thank You for the magic” Tennis Twitter goes berserk after Serena Williams announces her retirement

Also read: “The countdown has begun” Serena Williams drops retirement bomb

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter