Home Tennis

Canadian Open 2022: Taylor Fritz vs Frances Tiafoe Live Stream, Match Timings, Prediction, and Preview

In the second round of the Canadian Open 2022, Taylor Fritz vs Frances Tiafoe will take place in what will be the 4th meeting between the two Americans.

Taylor Fritz vs Frances Tiafoe

In the second round of the Canadian Open 2022, World No. 13 and the 10th seeded Taylor Fritz will take on World No. 24 Frances Tiafoe in an all-American clash.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Taylor Fritz vs Frances Tiafoe: Match Details

  • Tournament: Canadian Open 2022
  • Match: Taylor Fritz vs Frances Tiafoe
  • Round: Second Round
  • Date: 9th August 2022
  • Venue: Montreal, Canada
  • Surface: Clay
  • Prize Money: $42,760

Taylor Fritz vs Frances Tiafoe: Preview

Frances Tiafoe

Taylor Fritz took out former World No. 1 Andy Murray in the first round of the ongoing Canadian Open to advance further. The American won the match 6-1, 6-3 to make a winning start as he looks to win his second Masters-1000 title of the season having won the Indian Wells Masters earlier this season. Fritz has been a good player on the hardcourts and is one of the home favourites for the 2022 US Open later this month.

Frances Tiafoe had to battle hard and deep to move into the second round. Up against Benjamin Bonzi, Tiafoe won the match 6-7(6), 7-5, 6-3 in a good comeback win. Tiafoe comes to Canada on the back of a semi-final finish in Atlanta followed by a quarter-final run in Washington where he lost to eventual champion Nick Kyrgios. Tiafoe continues to look for his maiden title for the season having reached just 1 final this season but ended up on the losing side against Sebastian Baez in Estoril.

Advertisement
Advertisement

The compatriots have met on 4 occasions on the Tour with Frances winning their first-ever meeting. Since then, all three wins have gone in favour of Taylor who leads the head-to-head 3-1.

Taylor Fritz vs Frances Tiafoe: Prediction

Taylor Fritz

Tiafoe has a career hardcourt record of 127-95 while being 9-7 on the surface this year and having a 20-16 season record coming into the match. Fritz is 170-97 on hardcourts across his career and has a 16-5 record for the season on the surface while being 31-12 for the season across all surfaces. Looking at these numbers and their recent form, Fritz looks like the one heading into the 3rd round.

Prediction: Taylor Fritz to win in three sets.

Also Read: “She achieved it BEFORE the Open Era began,” Serena Williams takes a direct dig at Margaret Court over GOAT comparisons in her retirement letter

Taylor Fritz vs Frances Tiafoe: Broadcast and Live Stream Details

  • USA – Tennis Channel
  • UK – Amazon Prime Video
  • Australia – beIN Sport
  • France– Eurosport
  • Italy– Sportcast
  • Germany– Sky Deutschland
  • Spain– Telefonica 

Taylor Fritz vs Frances Tiafoe: Match Timings

  • Melbourne– 4:30 AM (11th August)
  • Paris– 8:30 PM
  • London– 7:30 PM
  • New York– 2:30 PM
  • Toronto– 2:30 PM
  • India– 12:00 AM

Also Read: “She’s the GOAT and it’s not an opinion, it’s a fact,” Coco Gauff pays a fitting tribute to the retiring Serena Williams

Also Read: Naomi Osaka’s US Open participation comes in big doubt after injury forces her to withdraw from the Canadian Open in Toronto

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter