After overcoming Germany’s Oscar Otte in straight sets (6-3, 6-1, 6-2), Spanish sensation Carlos Alcaraz advanced to the fourth round of Wimbledon. However, it was his sportsmanship that stood out during the match. In the second set, the 19-year-old was serving when the 28-year-old Otte used a drop shot to draw him closer. Quickly answering with a crosscourt shot back over the net, Alcaraz countered. Oscar Otte successfully pursued the ball and made one of the shots to score the point.
The line judge incorrectly called Alcaraz’s shot out before it was overruled by the chair umpire. The wrong call, however, required a replay since the Murrican, who had instructed the chair umpire to award Otte the point because the Spaniard had no chance of catching the German’s shot, could have benefited from it. “Good sportsmanship,” the chair umpire announced. “Mr Alcaraz is awarding the point to Mr Otte.” The crowd then praised Carlos Alcaraz for his good sportsmanship approach.
“Great example of sportsmanship”- fans on Twitter praise Carlos Alcaraz’s sportsmanship
Fans on Twitter shower praises for the young Spaniard.