Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Elena Rybakina vs Claire Liu Preview, Head to Head, Prediction and Live Stream

Elena Rybakina returns to the WTA tour and will be facing American Claire Liu in Washington at the ongoing Silicon Valley Classic 2021 being played in San Jose.

Elena Rybakina and Claire Liu will clash at the WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021
Claire Liu and Elena Rybakina

World number 20 Elena Rybakina takes on world number 108 Claire Liu in the Round of 16 of the WTA Silicon Valley Classic in San Jose.

Elena Rybakina vs Claire Liu: Match Details

  • Tournament: Silicon Valley Classic 2021
  • Match: Elena Rybakina vs Claire Liu
  • Round: Round of 16
  • Date: August 5th, 2021
  • Prize Money: $15,500
  • Venue: San Jose, California, USA
  • Surface: Outdoor Hard Court

Elena Rybakina vs Claire Liu: Preview

Elena Rybakina will feature at the Silicon Valley Classic
Elena Rybakina lost in the bronze medal match to Elina Svitolina

Rybakina enters the tournament on the back of a strong showing at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. The 20-year-old posted big wins over the likes of Donna Vekic and Garbine Muguruza before going down to Elina Svitolina in the bronze medal play-off.

Continuing her steady progress in 2021, America’s Claire Liu knocked out World No. 46 Dayana Yastremska in the first round of the San Jose Open on Tuesday. She needed two hours and 20 minutes to beat the Ukrainian 6-3, 4-6, 6-4 in an edge-of-the-seat thriller.

The 21-year-old who won the Wimbledon girls’ singles title in 2017, has played in four ITF finals this year, winning two of them. A second-round appearance at Wimbledon, two quarterfinals in WTA 125K events and a run to the second round in Charleston have been some of the highlights for Liu this year.

Elena Rybakina vs Claire Liu: Head to Head

16tennis web1 videoSixteenByNineJumbo1600 - FirstSportz
Claire Liu with her girls’ singles title

The pair have only faced off once in their career, with the meeting coming at Wimbledon earlier this year. Elena emerged as the clear victor in the second round meeting, winning in straight sets 6-4, 6-4.

Elena Rybakina vs Claire Liu: Prediction

elena rybakina
Elena Rybakina enters the clash as the clear favourite

Elena Rybakina posted some big results in the first half of the season, including a quarter-final showing at Roland Garros and a run to the semifinals of the Olympics. She will enter this contest as the firm favourite on paper. Home favourite Liu can only hope to stage an unlikely upset.

Prediction: A straight-set victory to Rybakina.

Elena Rybakina vs Claire Liu : Live Streaming and Where to Watch

Match Timings:

  • Japan: 8:30 am (August 6th)
  • Delhi: 5:00 am(August 6th)
  • New York: 7:30 pm (August 5th)
  • Melbourne: 9:30 am (August 6th)
  • Brazil: 8:30 pm (August 5th)

The Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic is broadcast live on Tennis Channel and streamed on Tennis Channel Plus. It will also be televised by ESPN.

Also Read: Elena Rybakina Net Worth, Titles, Career, Boyfriend, Income and more