WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Sloane Stephens vs Caty McNally Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Stream for San Jose Open

Sloane Stephens will be up against Caty McNally in the round of 32 at the San Jose Open in their 2nd career meeting.

Sloane Stephens vs Caty McNally
Sloane Stephens vs Caty McNally

World number 67, Sloane Stephens will face World number 134, Caty McNally in the round of 32 of the San Jose Open on August 3rd, 2021.

Sloane Stephens vs Caty McNally: Match Details

  • Tournament: Silicon Valley Classic 2021
  • Match: Sloane Stephens vs Caty McNally
  • Round: Round of 32
  • Date: August 3rd, 2021
  • Prize Money: $6,990
  • Venue: San Jose, California, USA
  • Surface: Outdoor Hard Court

Sloane Stephens vs Caty McNally: Preview

Sloane Stephens
Sloane Stephens

Stephens achieved her best career ranking in 2018 after Wimbledon of world number 3. The 28 year old was the 2017 US Open Champion and has won 6 WTA Tour titles. Stephens has not had her best season so far, after being knocked out in the first round in many tournaments. Her best result this year has been in Parma when she reached the semi-finals. For the first time, since 2017, Stephens has dropped out of the top 50 in rankings and thus, will be hoping to make an impression in San Jose. Stephens last played at Wimbledon where she lost in the third round before returning to tour for the American Hard Court Season.

McNally’s top rank has been in 2019 when she reached a world ranking of 105. She has had a good run on the tour this year in the doubles events. In singles, her best finish this year has been in Guadalajara when she reached the quarterfinals. McNally also was last seen at Wimbledon but was unable to break into the main draw. Although, ranked number 6 in the qualifiers, she was unable to win her second match. She will be hoping to perform well in San Jose to give her a chance to break into the top 100 rankings for the first time.

Sloane Stephens vs Caty McNally: Head to Head

Caty McNally
Caty McNally

This will be the 2nd meeting between the duo on the WTA Tour who last met at Parma in 2021 in the round of 32 where Stephens took the win, 7-6 (7-4), 6-4. Stephens currently leads their head to head tie, 1-0.

Sloane Stephens vs Caty McNally: Prediction

Sloane Stephens
Sloane Stephens

Although, Stephens has not had her best year, she has much more experience and is in much better form than McNally. She will also be headed into this match knowing she beat McNally earlier this year, which will give her a lot of confidence. Stephens has a win-loss record of 14-12 this year, while McNally has a win-loss record of 14-13.

Match Prediction: Stephens to win in straight sets.

Sloane Stephens vs Caty McNally: Live Streaming and Where to Watch

Match Timings:

  • Japan: 11:00 am (August 4th)
  • Delhi: 7:30 am (August 4th)
  • New York: 10:00 pm
  • Melbourne: 12:00 pm (August 4th)
  • Brazil: 11:00 pm

Official Broadcasters:

The Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic is broadcast live on Tennis Channel and streamed on Tennis Channel Plus. It will also be televised by ESPN.

Also read: WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Women’s Singles, Draw Preview, Analysis and Prediction for San Jose Open