WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Ajla Tomljanovic vs Amanda Anisimova Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Stream for San Jose Open

Ajla Tomljanovic will face Amanda Anisimova in the round of 32 of the San Jose Open in their 2nd career meeting.

Amanda Anisimova vs Ajla Tomljanovic
Amanda Anisimova vs Ajla Tomljanovic

World number 50, Ajla Tomljanovic will be up against World number 84, Amanda Anisimova in the round of 32 of the San Jose Open on August 3rd, 2021.

Ajla Tomljanovic vs Amanda Anisimova: Match Details

  • Tournament: Silicon Valley Classic 2021
  • Match: Ajla Tomljanovic vs Amanda Anisimova
  • Round: Round of 32
  • Date: August 3rd, 2021
  • Prize Money: $6,990
  • Venue: San Jose, California, USA
  • Surface: Outdoor Hard Court

Ajla Tomljanovic vs Amanda Anisimova: Preview

Ajla Tomljanovic
Ajla Tomljanovic

Tomljanovic turned pro in 2009 and reached a career high ranking of 39 in 2019. She made her best Grand Slam finish at Wimbledon in 2021 when she reached the quarterfinals. Tomljanovic lasted played in Japan at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. In the first round, she was winning 7-5, 3-2, when her opponent, Yaroslava Shvedova retired. In the second round, she lost in a thrilling three set match against number 4 seed, Elina Svitolina, 6-4, 3-6, 4-6. Tomljanovic last played at the Silicon Valley Classic in 2019 however, she was unable to impress after losing in her first match, the round of 32 against Kristie Ahn, 3-6, 6-4, 4-6.

Anisimova turned pro in 2016 and reached a career high ranking of 21 in 2019. She won her first WTA Tour title at the Copa Colsanitas in April 2019 at the age of 17. Anisimova last played in Wimbledon in June before returning back to the tour in California. At Wimbledon, Anisimova failed to go beyond the first round after getting defeated by Magda Linette in three sets, 6-2, 3-6, 1-6. She last played at the Silicon Valley Classic in 2019 where she was seeded number 4. In the round of 16, she dominated on the court when she defeated Madison Brengle in straight sets, 6-2, 6-2. However, she lost in the quarterfinals in a close three set match against Zheng Saisai, 7-5, 5-7, 4-6.

Ajla Tomljanovic vs Amanda Anisimova: Head to Head

Amanda Anisimova
Amanda Anisimova

This will be the 2nd meeting between the duo on the WTA Tour who last met at Waco in 2017 in the round of 32 where Tomljanovic took the win, 6-2,6-2. Tomljanovic currently leads their head to head tie, 1-0.

Ajla Tomljanovic vs Amanda Anisimova: Prediction

Ajla Tomljanovic
Ajla Tomljanovic

Tomljanovic has a lot more experience on the tour when compared to Anisimova who has also not had her best year on the tour so far. Tomljanovic has a win-loss record of 21-16 this year, while Anisimova has a win-loss record of 9-10 in 2021.

Anisimova will also be playing her first tournament on hard court after Wimbledon, while Tomljanovic played in Japan on hard court, which will give her an advantage.

Match Prediction: Tomljanovic to win in three sets.

Ajla Tomljanovic vs Amanda Anisimova: Live Streaming and Where to Watch

Match Timings:

  • Japan: 6:30 am (August 4th)
  • Delhi: 3:00 am (August 4th)
  • New York: 5:30 pm
  • Melbourne: 7:30 am (August 4th)
  • Brazil: 6:30 pm

Official Broadcasters:

The Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic is broadcast live on Tennis Channel and streamed on Tennis Channel Plus. It will also be televised by ESPN.

Also read: WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Women’s Singles, Draw Preview, Analysis and Prediction for San Jose Open