In a dramatic encounter against Maria Sakkari, Barbora Krejcikova saved a match point before booking a spot in the French Open 2021 Final. She needed five match points to seal the win 7-5,4-6,9-7. But a rather odd thing happened at her fourth match point.
On Sakkari’s serve at 8-7, 40-30 up, Krejcikova was hitting well and Sakkari forehand on her baseline was called long by the line judge. The Czech celebrated her win but the chair umpire stormed out of the chair to confirm the call. After taking a long look at the mark, he declared that the ball landed in, overruling the call and giving the point to Sakkari.
But a agitated Krejcikova argued with the umpire but he stayed with his call. Later, even the hawk eye confirmed that the umpire was correct in overruling the call and that the ball had landed in. Krejcikova eventually converted her fifth match point and stormed into a grand slam final for the first time.
Krejcikova to play Pavlyuchenkova in the final
Barbora Krejcikova became the first Czech woman in 40 years to reach the French Open final and will face Russian 31st seed Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, another first timer. Pavlyuchenkova was steady to beat a dangerous opponent in Tamara Zidansek and reach the French Open final, showing all her experience to win 7-5,6-3 on Chatrier.
As for Krejcikova, she showcased a defensive masterclass against Maria Sakkari in three sets 7-5,4-6,9-7. Krejcikova struggled with nerves early in the match and couldn’t afford to do that again in the final.
The Russian’s groundstrokes have once again been the center of attention over the last two weeks but it will be very difficult for her to penetrate Krejcikova’s defense, given her capability to hit perfect slices and moon-like lobs. But the Russian has handled everything that her opponents have thrown at her this fortnight. Expect a cracking contest, with Pavlyuchenkova just having an edge. Whoever wins, history will be made on Saturday.