Tokyo Paralympics: 24 strong Indian Paralympics team named

Para high jumper T. Mariyappan has been named the flag-bearer of the Indian contingent in the Tokyo Paralympics 2020.

Devendra Jhajharia in Indian Paralympics team
Devendra Jhajharia

The Paralympic Committee of India (PCI) announced a 24-member Indian Paralympics team, for the upcoming Tokyo Games. The team, which will be in action from August 24 features star javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia and high jumper Mariyappan Thangavelu. Barring the Olympic medalists, other top para-athletes include world record holders Sandeep Chowdhury and Sumeet.

India has been granted 24 slots, including four women athletes, by the World Para Athletics. The selection committee chose the team after a two-day trial at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi on June 29 and 30. The selection meeting was chaired by PCI chief Deepa Malik.

T. Mariyappan named flag bearer for Tokyo Paralympics

T. Mariyappan
T. Mariyappan

Top para high jumper T. Mariyappan has been named the flag-bearer of the Indian contingent in the Tokyo Paralympics. Mariyappan will defend the men’s high jump (T-42) gold at the Tokyo Games. He is thrilled to be the flagbearer of the Indian team. “I am very happy to be nominated as the captain of the Indian Paralympics Team at Tokyo. I take this opportunity to thank my coach Satyanarayana and all my friends for their support.

I am happy to have qualified for the Tokyo Games [with a jump of 1. 86m at the selection trials in New Delhi] and promise that I would do my best and, if possible, win gold with a world record. I also take this opportunity to thank the Tamil Nadu Government, Government of India, Sports Authority of India and the Paralympic Committee of India for their continuous patronage,” he said in a video message.

Indian Paralympics team

Men: Devendra Jhajharia, Ajeet Singh and Sundar Singh Gurjar (all javelin F-46), Sandeep Chaudhary and Sumit (both javelin F-64), Mariyappan Thangavelu, Sharad Kumar and Varun Singh Bhatti (all high jump T-63), Amit Kumar and Dharambir (both club throw F-51), Nishad Kumar and Ram Pal (both high jump T-47), Sonam Rana (shot put F-57), Navdeep (javelin F-41), Praveen Kumar (high jump T-64), Yogesh Kathuniya (discus throw F-56), Vinod Kumar (discus throw F-56), Ranjeet Bhati (javelin F-57), Arvind (shot put F-35), Tek Chand (javelin F-54).

Women: Ekta Bhyan and Kashish Lakra (both club throw F-51), Bhagyashri Jadhav (shot put F-34), Simran (100m T-13).

Reserve: Sandi Sanjay Sagar (men’s javelin F-64).

Also Read : Tokyo Olympics: How many Medals can India win?