Tokyo Paralympics: Manoj Sarkar and Suhas Yathiraj makes the cut, India to send 7 strong para-badminton team

Badminton World Federation (BWF) handed Manoj Sarkar and Suhas Yathiraj two bipartite quotas meant for India.

Suhas Yathiraj and Manoj Sarkar
Suhas Yathiraj and Manoj Sarkar

Para badminton is all set to make its debut at the Tokyo Paralympics and India will be sending a seven-membered team for the event. Para shuttler Suhas Yathiraj and Manoj Sarkar have been granted two bipartite quotas by the Badminton World Federation (BWF). Yathiraj has made the cut for singles SL4 event while Sarkar will be featuring in the SL3 event.

The addition of the two para shuttlers also boosts India’s medal prospects in the two men’s singles categories. India already has Bhagat in men’s singles SL3 and Tarun Dhillon in the men’s singles SL4 events. Suhas is the District Magistrate (DM) of Noida in Uttar Pradesh.

It’s wonderful to have a strong presence at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics. Indian para shuttlers are doing very well in international events including Asian Para Games and World Championships, and now this is the time to lead the show in the Paralympics. It’s great to have two shuttlers each in the men’s SL3 category and men’s SL4 category which enhances our medal prospects. We wish to have the gold and silver in both the categories,” chief national para-badminton coach Gaurav Khanna said.

A little bit disappointing though as I was expecting more shuttlers to qualify since they did well in the recent BWF events,” he added.

T. Mariyappan named flag bearer for Tokyo Paralympics

T. Mariyappan, Flag bearer at Tokyo Paralympics
T. Mariyappan

Top para high jumper T. Mariyappan has been named the flag-bearer of the Indian contingent in the Tokyo Paralympics. Mariyappan will defend the men’s high jump (T-42) gold at the Tokyo Games. He is thrilled to be the flagbearer of the Indian team. “I am very happy to be nominated as the captain of the Indian Paralympics Team at Tokyo. I take this opportunity to thank my coach Satyanarayana and all my friends for their support.

I am happy to have qualified for the Tokyo Games [with a jump of 1. 86m at the selection trials in New Delhi] and promise that I would do my best and, if possible, win gold with a world record. I also take this opportunity to thank the Tamil Nadu Government, Government of India, Sports Authority of India and the Paralympic Committee of India for their continuous patronage,” he said in a video message.

Indian Paralympics Team



Harvinder Singh
Vivek Chikara
Recurve Individual Open
Rakesh Kumar
Shyam Sundar Swami
Compound Individual Open


Jyoti BaliyanCompound Individual Open
Compound Mixed Team Open



Amit Kumar Saroha
Dharambir Nain
Club Throw F51
Vinod KumarDiscus Throw F52
Yogesh KathuniyaDiscus Throw F56
Nishad Kumar
Ram Pal
High Jump T47
Mariyappan Thangavelu
Varun Singh Bhati
Sharad Kumar
High Jump T63
Praveen KumarHigh Jump T64
Navdeep SinghJavelin Throw F41
Sudar Singh Gurjar
Ajeet Singh
Devendra Jhajharia
Javelin Throw F46
Tek ChandJavelin Throw F54
Ranjeet BhatiJavelin Throw F57
Sandeep Choudhary
Sumit Antil
Javelin Throw F64
Arvind MalikShot Put F35
Soman RanaShot Put F57


Simran Yadav100m T13
Kashish Lakra
Ekta Bhyan
Club Throw F51
Bhagyashri Madavrai JadhavShot Put F34



Pramod Bhagat
Manoj Sarkar
Men’s Singles SL3
Tarun Dhillon
Suhas Yathiraj
Men’s Singles SL4
Krishna NagarMen’s Singles SS6


Paul Parmar
Palak Kohli
Women’s Doubles SL3-SU5


Prachi YadavWomen’s VL2



Manish Narwal
Deepender Singh
Men’s P1 – 10 m air pistol SH1
Swaroop Mahavir Unhalkar
Deepak Saini
Men’s R1 – 10 m air rifle standing SH1
Deepak SainiMen’s R7 – 50 m rifle 3 positions SH1


Rubina FrancisWomen’s P2 – 10 m air pistol SH1
Avani LekharaWomen’s R2 – 10 m air rifle SH1
Avani LekharaWomen’s R8 – 50 m rifle 3 positions SH1

Mixed Teams


Suyash Jadhav50m Butterfly S7
200 Individual Medley SM7

Table Tennis

Sonalben Madhubhai PatelIndividual C3
Bhavina Hasmukhbhai PatelIndividual C4


Aruna Singh TanwarWomen’s K44 -49 kg

Also Read : Tokyo Olympics: How many Medals can India win?