5 exciting wrestlers who held the WWE championship for the longest period

know the fascinating details about the 5 longest WWE Championship reigns.

wrestlers with longest WWE Championship reigns

Lifting a WWE championship is considered to be the most prestigious moment in a wrestler’s life in pro-wrestling. It is the manifestation of the technical superiority of that wrestler over the others in the business. Wrestling companies aim to boost their ratings, viewership by projecting the mental and physical prowess of the title holders and the stories built around them. While many extremely talented superstars don’t succeed to get their hands on the championship belts in their entire wrestling careers, WWE has given many superstars the opportunity to hold the WWE championship for a long period of time.

This article focuses on the 5 wrestlers who hold the WWE championship for the longest period. The list purposely excludes the superstars like- Fabulous Moolah, Bruno Sammartino, Pedro Morales, and Bob Backlund as it focuses on the championship reigns of the superstars from the golden days of the WWF till date.

Here is the list of 5 wrestlers who hold the WWE championship for the longest period

Looking for another WWE Championship?
John Cena wants another WWE Championship!

#5 John Cena(380 days)-

The veteran, who remains the most popular babyface in the post- Hulk era in WWE, has registered a record 16 times WWE championship wins. However, his longest championship reign of 380 days starts back in 2006 when he has defeated Edge in a nail-biting TLC match in Toronto. During his reign, he defends his championship against multiple top-tier superstars like- Umaga, The Great Khali, Randy Orton, Edge, Bobby Lashly, and many more. Unfortunately, a torn pectoral muscle compels Cena to end his 380 days championship reign.

#4 CM Punk (434 days)- 

He marks his presence in this list by holding WWE Championship for over 400 days
The historic WWE Championship reign of CM Punk has a special place in the hearts of the fans.

The fans’ favorite wrestler, who is also known for his superb promo cutting ability, has left Vince MacMahon with no other options but to give him a historic title reign. In November 2011, CM Punk wins the WWE championship by beating Alberto Del Rio at Survivor Series. Punk overcomes multiple top-level challengers like- Kane, AJ Lee, Chris Jericho, Mark Henry, The Miz during his championship reign. His historic reign of 434 days comes to an end when The Rock has defeated the heel Punk in January 2013.

#3 Roman Reigns (459 days *) –

Still the Undisputed Universal Champion
Roman Reigns, the undisputed WWE Universal Champion

There is no looking back for the ‘Big Dog’ Roman Reigns after his win over Lesnar at Summerslam 2018. The current Universal Champion, collaborating with the great orator Paul Heyman, has given a huge boost to the viewership of WWE. The most badass heel ‘Big Dog’ has uprooted every obstacle in his way led by other top-tier superstars (Edge, Jey Usos, Big E, Kavin Owens, and many others) with his utmost resiliency and sometimes shrewdness. He has already broken the records for the longest WWE Championship reign of superstars like  Punk, Cena and there is no sign of him stopping in near future.

#2 Brock Lesnar( 504 days)-

The Beast coming back to regain  WWE Universal Championship
The Beast is coming back to regain his WWE Universal Championship

This muscular wrestler is also known as ‘The Beast Incarnate’ in WWE because of his ruthlessness and herculean ability to throw the opponents at ease. He starts his historic championship reign of 504 days by defeating Goldberg at Wrestlemania 33. During his WWE universal championship reign, he conquers superstars like- Roman Reigns, Samoa Joe, Kane, and Braun Strowman. But his long rival Roman Reigns has finally snatched the Universal Championship from him at Summerslam 2018 to end a historical title reign.

#1 Hulk Hogan (1474 days) –

The longest reigning WWE Champion !
Hulk Hogan, the longest WWE Championship holder

The renowned face of WWF in the twentieth century is Hulk Hogan. Hogan starts his historic WWE championship reign of 1474 days at Madison Square Garden by defeating  The Iron Sheik. The popular superstar has successfully defended his title against the superstars like Nikolai Volkoff, Roddy Piper, Terry Funk, Don Muraco, Paul Orndorff, Andre the Giant, and many others in the course of his legendary title reign. Hogan’s four-year domination comes to an end when Andre the Giant, with the help of Earl Hebner and Ted DiBiase, has successfully defeated him.

Read also- WWE Chairman Vince McMahon slaps Raw Superstar