5 Previous Summerslam main events where a new World Champion was crowned

Every WWE Summerslam event has had the World Championship on the line

Seth Rollins and Finn Balor battled each other at WWE Summerslam

Summerslam has changed the careers of a number of WWE superstars. The event has seen a lot of superstars enhance their careers and has made dreams come true. The main dream of WWE superstars is to get the top championships and be a fighting champion.

The 2 top Men’s Championships are the WWE Championship and the Universal Championship. Both of these are those championships which every WWE superstar dreams of. The Biggest Party of the Summer has hosted a number of World Championship matches.

Here’s the list of the 5 previous World Championship wins at WWE Summerslam.

#5 The Fiend Bray Wyatt wins the Universal Championship (Summerslam 2020)

Adobe Post 20210806 1106120.1330035321031925 - FirstSportz
The Fiend Bray Wyatt chokeslammed Braun Strowman on exposed wood of the ring at Summerslam 2020

The Fiend Bray Wyatt is no longer a part of WWE as he was released by the company recently but when he was a part of the roster, he had been one of the best superstars. Bray Wyatt has previously won both the world titles and has experienced the pressure of defending them as well.

At Summerslam 2020, Wyatt battled his former team member, Braun Strowman who was also released by WWE. Strowman had defeated the Indomitable Goldberg at WrestleMania 36 to win the Universal Championship.

The Fiend Bray Wyatt defeated Strowman to become the Universal Champion for the second time in his career. But he couldn’t keep the title with himself for too long because Roman Reigns returned and defeated both of them at Payback 2020 to become the new champion.

#4 Seth Rollins wins the Universal Championship (Summerslam 2019)

Adobe Post 20210806 1107320.693514115198385 - FirstSportz
Seth Rollins stomped Brock Lesnar’s face into the mat at Summerslam 2019

Seth Rollins is undoubtedly one of the most popular and accomplished WWE superstars. He has won almost every championship in WWE and has proved himself to be a ‘Slayer of Slayers’. One of the best years of his whole career was 2019.

The year saw Rollins win the Men’s Royal Rumble match followed by the Universal Championship at WrestleMania 35. But, at Extreme Rules 2019, Brock Lesnar cashed n his MITB contract to become the new champion.

Rollins challenged Lesnar again at Summerslam 2019 and defeated him for the second time in the same career and became the Universal Champion. But his second reign as the champion wasn’t too long because the Fiend Bray Wyatt defeated him at Crown Jewel.

#3 Roman Reigns finally wins the Universal Championship (Summerslam 2018)

Adobe Post 20210806 1107230.7197125664562103 - FirstSportz
Roman Reigns defeated Brock Lesnar after a hard work of 3 years

The Big Dog is another one of the biggest names in the wrestling industry. The Tribal Chief has had a great career which has made him work very hard as well. Reigns has been a former world championship and has seen a lot of things come and go.

Reigns had been trying to win the Universal Championship in 2018 after he had won the Elimination Chamber match. But he couldn’t win it before Summerslam. At the Biggest Party of Summer, Reigns defeated the Beast Incarnate Brock Lesnar to win the Universal Championship.

But he was not able to keep it for long because he had to relinquish it. On 22nd October 2018, Reigns shocked the WWE Universe by announcing that he had to relinquish the Universal Championship for the treatment of leukemia.

#2 Finn Balor becomes the inaugural Universal Champion (Summerslam 2016)

Adobe Post 20210806 1107180.23765360215436815 - FirstSportz
Finn Balor defeated Seth Rollins to become the inaugural Universal Champion

Finn Balor is another example of the most talented and skillful superstars in WWE history. The Prince though has spent half of his career in injuries, his matches have been highly athletic and entertaining. Balor is known for his high flying moves and athleticism.

The leader of the Balor club had won the Universal Championship at Summerslam 2016. Not only that, but he was the 1st ever Universal Champion after defeating Seth Rollins at that event. The match had been recognized as one of the best matches of the year which made his win even sweeter.

Balor during the match, sustained an injury in his shoulder which was first taken as normal. But after sometime, the health officials recognized it as a big injury which took months of his career. This made Balor relinquish the title without even holding it for one day.

#1 Brock Lesnar wins the WWE Championship (Summerslam 2014)

Adobe Post 20210806 1106450.025710373843194523 - FirstSportz
Brock Lesnar had ended the rivalry with John Cena with an F-5

One of the biggest rivalries in the history of WWE was the one between Brock Lesnar and John Cena. The two men had teared each other apart in their rivalry to come out supreme. The two men are some of the most dangerous and powerful superstars in WWE history which made their rivalry very intense.

At Summerslam 2014, Cena defended the WWE Championship against Brock Lesnar but was not able to do so. Though the two men had put everything inside them to win the match but Lesnar reigned supreme in the end.

Lesnar had a long run with the championship and lost it at Wrestlemania 31 when Seth Rollins cashed in the Money in the Bank contract and created history.

ALSO READ: 5 Current WWE superstars who can be called Mr. or Mrs. Summerslam