Caeleb Dressel among five swimmers nominated for the prestigious Laureus World Sports Awards

Caeleb Dressel among five swimmers nominated for the prestigious Laureus World Sports Awards

Caeleb Dressel receives nomination for Sportsman of the Year

The Laureus World Sports Awards are presented annually, given in a variety of categories, including Sportsman, Sportswoman, Team, Breakthrough Athlete, Comeback Athlete, Athlete with Disability, Action Sportsperson and Sport for Good. The officials of this prestigious awards have released the list of nominees in which Caeleb Dressel, Katie Ledecky, Emma McKeon, Ariarne Titmus and Tom Daley are among the top global athletes.

The Chinese national diving team, which won 12 medals (including seven gold) at the Tokyo 2020, also received a team nomination.

Dressel received a nomination for Sportsman of the Year, alongside Kenya’s middle-distance runner Eliud Kipchoge, Dutch motorsport driver Max Verstappen, Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic, German soccer star Robert Lewandowski and recently-retired American football star Tom Brady. Notably, the American swimmer was one of the biggest stars at the Tokyo Olympics, winning five gold medals in his second Olympiad.

On the other hand, distance swimmer Ledecky and Australia’s McKeon were nominated for Sportswoman of the Year, joining American track star Allyson Felix, Jamaican sprinter Elaine Thompson, Aussie tennis player Ash Barty and Spanish soccer player Alexia Putellas

Ariarne Titmus – Nominated for Breakthrough Athlete of the Year

Ariarne Titmus
Ariarne Titmus

Talking about the watersports athletes, Titmus received a nomination for breakthrough athlete of the year, besides German tennis player Daniil Medvedev, British teen Emma Raducanu, footballer Pedri and athletics competitors Neeraj Chopra and Yulimar Rojas. 

Lastly, British diver Daley received a nomination for Comeback of the Year, joining American gymnast Simone Biles, cyclists Mark Cavendish and AnneMiek van Vlueten, skateboarder Sky Brown, and motorcycle racer Marc Marquez.

For those who don’t know, swimmers are no stranger to success at these awards, with some of the legends of the game like Michael Phelps, Missy Franklin and Rebecca Adlington have all tasted success in the previous editions of the ceremony.

Also Read | “Started my journey with a goal of breaking world record” – Michael Phelps on his definition of success