Tim Paine steps down as Test captain over ‘sexting scandal’; Australia name new skipper ahead of The Ashes

Tim Paine took over as Australia captain following the infamous ball-tampering scandal in South Africa, involving ex-skipper Steve Smith, then vice-captain David Warner and batter Cameron Bancroft.

Tim Paine
Tim Paine

Wicketkeeper-batter Tim Paine has left the Australian Test team captaincy ahead of The Ashes 2021-22, beginning from the next month. This shocker came after the revelation of an investigation stating that the 36-year-old had indulged in sending explicit messages to a female co-worker four years ago.

Paine, who took over as Australia skipper back in 2018, addressed a press conference today in Hobart. The right-hander captained the team during the 2019 Ashes series, where the Aussies retained the coveted trophy on foreign soil for the first time in 18 years. Meanwhile, ace speedster and Test team vice-captain Pat Cummins has been appointed as the new skipper for the upcoming England series.

“Today, I’m announcing my decision to stand down as the captain of the Australian men’s test team. It’s an incredibly difficult decision, but the right one for me, my family, and cricket,” Paine said as he read out a statement.

Tim Paine continues to be available for selection in Tests

Cricket Australia
Cricket Australia

The Hobart-born has just left the captaincy post as he’ll be still available for selection in his nation’s side in red-ball cricket. Cricket Australia Chair Richard Freudenstein has stated that the board immediately accepted his resignation which has come in “the best interests of his family and Australian cricket”. He said:

“Tim felt it was in the best interests of his family and Australian cricket to take this decision to step down as captain.

“The Board has accepted Tim’s resignation and will now work through a process with the National Selection Panel of identifying and appointing a new captain.”

“Tim will continue to be available for selection in the Test team through the Ashes summer.”

Also Read | Who is Rachin Ravindra? Meet New Zealand cricketer named after Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar