The Clubs with most Premier League Titles

photomania 22d2e1f187a5eef8063494947f9fcd50 1 - FirstSportz

The Premier League, often referred to as the English Premier League or the EPL, is the first-tier football league in England.The Premier League is the most-watched sports league in the world. Audience of more than 4.7 billion people tune in to watch every season. Formed in February 20, 1992, the English Premier League was created by clubs in the Football League First Division.

From 1993 to 2001, the league was called as the FA Carling Premiership. Barclays took over in 2001 and since then it is known as the Barclays Premier League. 49 clubs have played in the Premier League from its inception in 1992: 47 English and 2 Welsh clubs. The league held its first season in 1992–93. It was composed of 22 clubs for that season.

Only eleven team managers have lifted the trophy since 1992 – Sir Alex Ferguson (Scottish), Jose Mourinho (Portugal), Arsene Wenger (France), Carlo Ancelotti (Italy), Kenny Daglish (Scottish), Roberto Mancini (Italy) and Manuel Pellegrini (Chile), Antonio Conte (Italy), Claudio Ranieri (Italy), Pep Guardiola (Spain) and Jurgen Klopp (Germany). Sir Alex Ferguson is the most successful manager with thirteen Premier League titles to his name.

The following information is relevant since the Premier League inception in 1992:

1. Manchester United (13 Premier League Titles)

dasdasd - FirstSportz

Sir Alex Ferguson was the man who masterminded the triumph in the inaugural Premier League season, in 1992-93 season. The Reds went on to win titles in 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2013 – more than all other English Premier clubs combined till date.

A total of 20 league titles are to United’s name – most by any English club has ever won.

The Scottish former football manager and player who managed Manchester United from 1986 to 2013. He is considered one of the greatest managers of all time. Nobody has won more trophies than any other manager in the history of football than Sir Alex Ferguson.

2. Chelsea (5 Premier League Titles)

jose mourinho chelsea wfuqg8m6ry9y17jzkbkkz9hx6 2 - FirstSportz

After the English top flight was re-branded to the Premiership or Premier League, Chelsea Football Club have won 5 Titles in England’s Top division of Football. They have also won one before when the League was simply known as the First Division.

Chelsea won back-to-back Premier League titles in 2005 and 2006, as well as two League Cups in 2005 and 2007 and an FA Cup in 2007 under Jose Mourinho. Chelsea won the 2009-10 Premier League by a point over second placed Manchester United under Carlo Ancelotti.

Shortly after Mourinho’s return in 2013, the club won their 4th Premier League title and 5th overall league title in the 2014-15 season.

The London side won their 5th Premier League title under defensive-style Italian manager, Antonio Conte.

Also read: It is finally their year! Liverpool are the champions of England

3. Manchester City (4 Premier League Titles)

asdasdasda 1 - FirstSportz

A takeover by the Abu Dhabi billionaire Sheikh Mansour in 2008 started a new triumphant era. Under Roberto Mancini, Manchester City sealed their first league title since 1968 with victory over Queens Park Rangers on the final day. The title was City’s first Premier League success, making them the fifth club to win the Premier League in its 20-year history. In 2013-14 Premier League season, City won their 2nd league under Manuel Pellegrini.

After three years in Munich, the former FIFA World Coach of the Year, Pep Guardiola agreed a move to Manchester City for the 2016-17 Premier League season. Man City finished third and then, in the next campaign, broke the Premier League record for most consecutive wins, with 18 victories. City won two consecutive Premier League titles in 2017-18 and 2018-19 season under former Barcelona manager.

4. Arsenal (3 Premier League Titles)

19630374 0 image a 86 1570896879329 - FirstSportz

Before the arrival of Arsene Wenger, Arsenal sometimes even struggled to be in the top half of the table but, the tables had turned in 1998 when Arsenal were hosted by Manchester United. Marc Overmars helped Arsenal and they won the league at Old Trafford.

Second instance came in 2002 when Arsenal completed their double, by winning the FA Cup and premier league

The most remembered season for Gunners and their fans was 2003/04 where, Arsenal were titled as ‘The Invincibles’ because they hadn’t lost any of the games in Premier league that season. It was an incredible achievement in the history of the league and a record yet to be even matched by any other club in Premier league. Many Arsenal players are remembered for this season: Thierry Henry, Patrick Vieira, Ray Parlour, and many more.

5. Blackburn Rovers-Leicester City-Liverpool (1 Premier League Title each)

collage - FirstSportz

Blackburn Rovers became just the second team to win the Premier League title only after Manchester United. Rovers managed by Kenny Dalglish and spearheaded by Alan Shearer; Rovers just edged past Manchester United on the final day to win the third edition of the title in the final English top-flight season of 1994-95. Alan Shearer scored 34 goals that campaign.

Leicester City won the English first-tier football league for the first time in their 132-year history. Leicester City became the 24th club to become English football champions. Leicester City were the surprise of the season. They escaped relegations in the 2014-15 season. Many football pundits had predicted that they would be relegated in the 2015-16 season. The young Leicester side defied the critics to win the 2015-16 Premier League Title.

In recent years, Liverpool had a couple of chances of winning the Premier League early on. Liverpool had a great run under Gerard Houllier, Rafa Benitez and Brendan Rodgers but failed to win the Prem title. Liverpool finished runners-up with 97 points just one point behind the 2018-19 Premier League winners, Manchester City. However, Liverpool dominated the 2019-20 season winning their first Premier League title since it’s inception in 1992. The season was halted for over three months due to the COVID-19 pandemic. After the resume of the Premier League in the midst of June, Liverpool were still playing the same quality high-paced football. Liverpool have set a number of English-top flight records including the most consecutive home wins (23), the largest point lead at the end of a match week, and they also matched the Premier League record of 18 consecutive wins under fan favourite manager, Jurgen Klopp.

Also read: The Best 4 Moments for Messi’s 33rd Birthday