Five consecutive titles at two Grand Slams: A record by Roger Federer that no one can break

During the period from 2003-2009, Roger Federer was dominating the tennis world like no one before. It ended up with the Swiss setting a record that no one could ever touch in the distant future.

Roger Federer
Roger Federer
images 2020 07 25T093626.028 - FirstSportz
Roger Federer

Swiss tennis masterclass, Roger Federer has reigned on two Grand Slams for five consecutive years, a record that seems to be impossibly hard to break for the best of the best in the sport – Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal; only because the three are in the race for the most number of Grand Slams.

The name, Roger Federer, during the period from 2004-2009 meant another word for ‘invincible’ as such was his dominance which accumulated numerous records for the Swiss. Most of them have been shattered by Rafa and Novak itself, however, there exists one record which Federer holds so proudly, that nobody can usurp him.

The Swiss won 5 Wimbledon and 5 US Open titles from 2003-2008

WhatsApp Image 2021 01 05 at 8.22.57 PM - FirstSportz
Roger Federer

The 20 time Grand Slam champion conquered the Wimbledon five times from 2003 to 2007 and won the US Open five times too, from 2004 to 2008.

Federer’s rivals Nadal and Djokovic don’t come anywhere close to this record. Nadal has won five consecutive titles at the French Open from 2010 to 2014 but other than that he doesn’t even have a total of five titles elsewhere. Djokovic, on the other hand, has never won five consecutive titles at a Grand Slam. The Serb has a streak of 3 consecutive titles from 2011 to 2013 at the Australian Open.

Wimbledon: 2003-2007

WhatsApp Image 2021 01 05 at 8.20.37 PM - FirstSportz
2008 Wimbledon final: Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal

Federer announced himself to the world for the first time when he claimed his maiden Wimbledon in 2003 and dominated the grass-court Championship for another five years.

The Swiss ace defeated Mark Philippoussis in his maiden Wimbledon final in 2003, followed by Andy Roddick in 2004 and 2005. Then, the young Spaniard Rafael Nadal in 2006 and 2007.

Federer’s terrific streak of 41 matches and 5 titles at Wimbledon was finally broken in 2008 by none other than Rafa Nadal. They both are the only members of the majestic 20 Grand Slam club in men’s tennis, as of today.

US Open: 2004-2008

WhatsApp Image 2021 01 05 at 8.20.38 PM - FirstSportz
2009 US Open final: Roger Federer and Juan Del Potro

It was simultaneously happening for the Swiss who was winning the two Grand Slams, just leaving a year’s gap before beginning his reign at the US Open in 2004 for the first time.

It was becoming like a game, in which no one could come close to Federer because he would just beat and move past anybody like a gush of wind.

Federer had an air of invincibility around him as he ousted former World No.1, Lleyton Hewitt, in 2004, followed by legendary Andre Agassi in 2005. Then he eased past Roddick yet another time. 2007 was the first Djokovic-Federer final followed by the first Murray-Federer final in 2008; that the world witnessed.

The Swiss legend could have made it a sixth consecutive in the US Open but young Argentinian, Juan Del Potro came in the way of Federer and ended his phenomenal 41 match streak at the US Open as well.

Federer is the first player ever to win five consecutive titles at two Grand Slams. In addition to this, Federer is also the only player to have a 41 match win streak at two Majors.

Also Read: “Roger Federer deserves to be in the GOAT debate because of his sheer impact on tennis,” says Top Coach