Mumbai and Pune added to list of venues alongside Navi Mumbai for AFC Women’s Asia Cup 2022 in India

AFC and AIFF announces two new venues for AFC Women's Asia Cup 2022

AFC Women's Asia Cup 2022
AFC Women's Asia Cup 2022
FirstSportz News

Mumbai Football Arena – Andheri Sports Complex, Mumbai and the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Balewadi, Pune were confirmed as the new venues by the Asian Football Federation and AFC Women’s Asia Cup 2022 Local Organisation Committee (LOC).

Decision taken keeping in Covid challenges in mind

The existing challenges of the Covid Pandemic was the main reason for keeping these locations as venues, as they would minimise the travelling and keep the medical bio bubble intact for all the concerned players and officials.
The DY Patil Stadium which is a 37,000 capacity stadium in Navi Mumbai is set to remain as one of the three stadium. The AFC Women’s Asia Cup is set to be scheduled from January 20 to February 6 2022.

AFC Venues for Women's Asia Cup 2022
Venues for Women’s Asia Cup 2022

President of the All India Football Federation (AIFF) and Chairman of the LOC, Mr Praful Patel said, “As the situation evolved, we had to adapt and the need was to create a bio-secure bubble. Hence, we chose Mumbai, Navi Mumbai and Pune, venues in close geographical proximity with stadiums that have previously hosted major football competitions.

Indian Women's Football team
Indian Women’s Football team

“I am happy that the Maharashtra government is paying special attention to the infrastructure and preparations for the tournament, and is dedicated to make the AFC Women’s Asian Cup a grand success,”

I would like to extend my gratitude to the governments of Odisha and Gujarat, who were both enthusiastic about hosting this tournament. While we continue to adapt, we can assure that thorough preparations will be made to ensure we stage a truly spectacular and safe AFC Women’s Asian Cup.” Mr Patel added emphasizing on the enthusiasm both the states showed in hosting the tournament.

Adobe Post 20210706 1203260.9810820746651026 - FirstSportz
DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai

AFC Women’s Asia Cup Qualifier

Asia’s continental tournament in the women’s football has been recently expanded. Japan, Australia and China has already joined hosts India. The rest of the 28 teams will battle it out from September this year for the remaining 8 spots. Chinese Taipei the three times champion have been joined by Bahrain, Turkmenistan and Laos in Group A. Group B has Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Vietnam and Maldives.

Three times champion DPR Korea is placed i Group C with Singapore, Iraq and Indonesia. Group D comprises of Myanmar, UAE, Guam and Lebanon.
Korea Republic, Uzbekistan and Mongolia are in Group E, as Philippines, Hong Kong and Nepal will battle it out in Group F.
Runners up and host of 2018 edition Jordan are placed alongside Iran and Bangladesh in Group G. Thailand, Palestine and Malaysia completes the line up in Group H

ALSO READ: Copa America 2021 Brazil vs Peru Player Ratings: Lucas Paqueta’s strike sees Brazil edge out Peru in the semis