UEFA awards for 2020/21 season announced as Chelsea and Barcelona players dominate the list in men’s and women’s football

Check out the list of UEFA award winners for the season 2020/21 announced in the Champions League draw event.

Thomas Tuchel, Edourard Mendy and Kante
Thomas Tuchel, Edourard Mendy and Kante

The UEFA awards for the recently concluded 2020/21 season was announced on the day, the groups were drawn in Istanbul, Turkey. Having won the men’s UEFA Champions league title last year, it was no surprise that Chelsea players dominated in the awards list.

Italian midfielder Jorginho was named UEFA’s player of the year as his teammates N’golo Kante and Edouard Mendy also earned themselves awards for the performances in the Blues’ incredible run last year.


Chelsea’s coach Thomas Tuchel, was named the coach of the year after leading them to an incredible title after joining the club in December and taking over from Frank Lampard who had made sure Chelsea finished top of their group during his tenure.

Edouard Mendy received the UEFA Goalkeeper of the Year award, while N’Golo Kante won the best midfielder award.

Men’s Uefa awards

Edouard Mendy
Edouard Mendy
  • Player of the year – Jorginho (Chelsea)
  • Coach of the year – Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)
  • Goalkeeper of the year – Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)
  • Defender of the year – Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
  • Midfielder of the year – N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
  • Forward of the year – Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
N'Golo kante with the trophy
N’Golo kante with the trophy

President’s award – Denmark captain Simon Kjaer and the medical team that saved Christian Eriksen’s life at Euro 2020.

In women’s football, FC Barcelona players received most of the awards after the Barcelona side lifted the Women’s Champions league title last year.

Captain and midfielder Alexia Putellas won the top award and was named the player and midfielder of the year, as her teammates Sandro Panos and Jennifer Hermoso won the goalkeeper and forward of the year respectively.

Irene Paredes won the defender of the yearaward for her stellar season with Paris Saint-Germain and stopped Barcelona from sweeping all of the awards to themselves. Interestingly she joined the Spanish giants this year and is a current FC Barcelona player.

Women’s Uefa awards

  • Player of the year – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)
  • Coach of the year – Lluis Cortes (Barcelona)
  • Goalkeeper of the year – Sandra Panos (Barcelona)
  • Defender of the year – Irene Paredes (PSG)
  • Midfielder of the year – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)
  • Forward of the year – Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona)

Also Read: La Liga: Valencia vs Alaves Dream11 Prediction, Playing XI, Teams, Preview, and Top Fantasy picks