Home Tennis

Canadian Open 2022: Jessica Pegula vs Simona Halep Live Stream, Match Timings, Prediction, and Preview

American No.1 Jessica Pegula will take on former World No.1 Simona Halep in the semifinal of the 2022 Canadian Open.

Jessica Pegula vs Simona Halep

7th seed Jessica Pegula will be up against 15th seed Simona Halep in the last 4 of the 2022 Canadian Open. Pegula is ranked 7th in the world while Halep is the World No.15.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Jessica Pegula vs Simona Halep: Match Details

  • Tournament: Canadian Open 2022
  • Match: Jessica Pegula vs Simona Halep
  • Round: Semifinal
  • Date: 13th August 2022
  • Venue: Toronto, Canada
  • Surface: Hard
  • Prize Money: $5,926,545

Jessica Pegula vs Simona Halep: Preview

Jessica Pegula

Jessica Pegula has had a pretty good season so far. She made it to the quarterfinals of the Australian Open before losing to eventual champion Ash Barty. She then made it to the semifinals of the Miami Open where she once again lost to eventual champion Iga Swiatek. On clay, she finished runner-up at the Madrid Open and also reached the quarterfinal of the French Open where she once again lost to eventual champion Iga Swiatek. This week in Toronto, she defeated Asia Muhammad in the second round Camila Giorgi in the Round of 16 before getting the better of Yulia Putintseva in the quarterfinals in straight sets 6-3,6-3.

Simona Halep returned from injury at the start of the season and is slowly getting back to her peak. She made it to the Round of 16 of the Australian Open to start the season after winning the Melbourne Summer Set and then made it to the semifinals at Dubai. She reached the semifinals of the Indian Wells Open too but had a very average clay-court season according to her high standards. To turn things around, she had a very good grass season where she made back-to-back semifinals at Birmingham, Bad Homburg, and Wimbledon. She is yet to drop a set this week at Toronto and has beaten the likes of Donna Vekic, Shuai Zhang, and Jil Teichmann in the early rounds. She then defeated Coco Gauff in the quarterfinals in straight sets 6-4,7-6(2).

Advertisement
Advertisement

Jessica Pegula vs Simona Halep: Prediction

Simona Halep

Pegula is ranked above Halep in the WTA Rankings but the Romanian will have a slight edge going into the match. She has experience on her side and hence knows how to handle nerves. Pegula has a big forehand and generates a lot of power from the baseline but Halep has a solid defensive game to counter that. Expect a thrilling match with Halep reaching her second tour final this season.

Prediction: Halep to win in three sets.

Also Read: Cincinnati Masters 2022: Men’s Singles Draw Preview and Prediction

Jessica Pegula vs Simona Halep: Broadcast and Live Stream Details

  • USA – Tennis Channel
  • UK – Amazon Prime Video
  • Australia – beIN Sport
  • France– Eurosport
  • Italy– Sportcast
  • Germany– Sky Deutschland
  • Spain– Telefonica 

Jessica Pegula vs Simona Halep: Match Timings

  • Melbourne– 3:00 am (15/08/2022)
  • Paris– 7:00 pm
  • London– 6:00 pm
  • New York– 1:00 pm
  • Toronto– 1:00 pm
  • Montreal– 1:00 pm
  • India– 10:30 pm

Also Read: Cincinnati 2022: Women’s Singles Draw Preview and Prediction for Western & Southern Open

Also Read: “You’re just unattractive!” When Serena Williams launched a vigorous verbal assault on a chair umpire at the 2011 US Open

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Lakshya Chopra is an aspiring sports writer and enthusiast who covers tennis for FirstSportz. He is currently pursuing his B.Tech (Computer) degree from VIIT, Pune. He is the most passionate guy in the room when it comes to Sports. He is hugely inspired by Rafael Nadal.