Mikael Ymer faced an on-court disqualification after he smashed his racquet on the foot of the umpire’s chair at the Lyon Open. While commenting on the incident on social media, Karoline Pliskova jokingly stated that ‘she was better’. The Czech player had earlier attacked the umpire’s chair after an unfavourable line during her match at the 2018 Rome Open.
The former World No.1 reached the quarter-finals at the Australian Open but lost the match to Magda Linette. Since then, the 31-year-old could not fare past the round of 16 in various tournaments. With the start of her clay campaign, Pliskova had an incredible run at the Stuttgart Open. However, she exited the tour with her quarter-finals defeat at the hands of the World No.1, Iga Swiatek. At the Italian Open, the World No.16 was defeated in the first round by Anna Bondar.
A Twitter user posted a video of the incident where Ymer was seen smashing his racquet into the umpire’s chair and breaking it into pieces. The Swedish player went on a furious rampage after the chair umpire made an unfavourable line call. The video caught the attention of Pliskova as she jokingly commented that her attack was better. “I was better,” she wrote.
At the 2018 Rome Open, the Czech player lost her cool after the chair umpire made an unfavourable line call in her second-round match. Pliskova called for a line check after her smash was called out while serving 30-30 and 5-5 in the final set, against Maria Sakkari. She got engaged in a heated argument as the umpire granted the point to her opponent. After her net exchange with Sakkari, Pliskova went on to repeatedly smash her racquet at the foot of the chair umpire.
Pliskova reached the quarter-finals at the Dubai Championships but got a walkover in that game.
Mikael Ymer receives support from Taylor Fritz after his Lyon Open episode
Mikael Ymer was disqualified from the round of 16 at Lyon Open. The Swedish player raised a line call during his match against Arthur Fils. He cited that Fils’ shot was wide at the sideline and asked the chair official to check the mark. However, both of them got into a heated argument after the Portuguese umpire refused to even step down. The World No.51 appeared agitated as his opponent was granted the point. After falling behind in the first set by 5-6, Ymer furiously smashed his racquet at the foot of the chair umpire.
While addressing the situation, Taylor Fritz took to Twitter to express his opinion about the incident. The 25-year-old stated that a bad bounce is never equal to a line hit. Fritz said that he is not justifying the actions of the Swedish player, but the on-court call regarding the issue was not fully right. ” Not justifying the reaction at all but the amount of people that think a bad bounce = line hit is insane… crazy bounces happen all over the court and especially near lines,” he said.
Fritz had earlier reached the semi-finals at the Monte-Carlo Masters but faced defeat at the hands of Andrey Rublev.
Tanushree Verma is a Content Creater for Tennis at FirstSportz. Since her first interest in the sport in 2014, she has been religiously following tennis from 2021. The most memorable match she ever watched has to be the 2022 Australian Open final. Apart from watching tennis, she is an avid reader and loves to watch Korean dramas.
FirstSportz is the First Stop for all sports fanatics. Starting in 2019, we initially covered Olympic Sports, but in 2021 we added every other sport which you might be looking for, like NFL, Golf, MLB, WWE Cricket, Football, Tennis, Esports, NBA, MMA and more.