“Not my type of champion” Fans call out Lorenzo Musetti after he wins a point on a double bounce during the finals against Carlos Alcaraz in Hamburg

Lorenzo Musetti's controversial double-bounce point
20-year-old Lorenzo Musetti became a Tour champion for the first time at the 2022 Hamburg Open when he defeated top-seed and title favourite Carlos Alcaraz in the finals. Musetti won the match 6-4, 6-7(8), 6-4 in a thrilling final between the two youngsters with the match going absolutely down the wire before Musetti claimed the title.
The Italian’s win however was not easy as Alcaraz, despite the first loss in ATP finals, proved his mettle once again as he saved 5 Championship points in the second set and came through in the tiebreaker to force the all-to-play for the third set where he eventually lost the match. It was a bittersweet moment for Alcaraz as he would have liked to enter the Top-5 with a title to his name as his qualification into the finals got him inside the Top-5 for the first time.
Netizens express their anger over Lorenzo Musetti’s actions

While the match did keep all fans on the edge of their seats, it did have a fair share of controversy as well. During the second set, when Musetti was serving for the match, there appeared to be a double bounce by the Italian which should have granted Carlos the point. However, with the umpire not calling it and giving the benefit of doubt to Musetti, he played the point and eventually won it as well. Although he had to then lose the game as Carlos broke his serve and the set went into the tiebreaker, Musetti‘s actions did not go well with fans.
Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter