Tel Aviv Watergen Open 2022 FINAL: Novak Djokovic vs Marin Cilic Live Stream, Match Timings, Prediction, and Preview

Former World No.1 Novak Djokovic will lock horns against Marin Cilic in the 2022 Tel Aviv Watergen Open Final.

Novak Djokovic vs Marin Cilic
Novak Djokovic vs Marin Cilic

21-time grand slam champion Novak Djokovic will face 2014 US Open champion Marin Cilic in the final of the 2022 Tel Aviv Watergen Open. Djokovic is ranked 7th in the world while Cilic is the World No.16.

Novak Djokovic vs Marin Cilic: Match Details

  • Tournament: Tel Aviv Watergen Open 2022
  • Match: Novak Djokovic vs Marin Cilic
  • Round: Final
  • Date: 2nd October 2022
  • Venue: Tel Aviv, Israel
  • Surface: Hard
  • Prize Money: $144,415

Novak Djokovic vs Marin Cilic: Preview

Marin Cilic
Marin Cilic

Luck hasn’t been on Novak Djokovic’s side this season. He got deported from Australia earlier this year due to his vaccination status and wasn’t allowed to compete in the Golden Swing either. He then had a decent clay season where he won the Rome Masters but lost to Rafael Nadal in the quarterfinal of the French Open. He then bounced back to win his 21st major title in Wimbledon but wasn’t allowed to compete in the North-American swing due to the vaccine mandate.

This week in Tel Aviv, he is yet to drop a set and defeated Pablo Andujar and Vasek Pospisil early on. In the semifinals, he got the better of Roman Safiullin in straight sets 6-1,7-6(3) to reach the final.

Marin Cilic has done decently all season and started it by making it to the Round of 16 of the Australian Open. He then had a below-average clay season but made amends by reaching the semifinal of the French Open. He also reached the semifinals at Queen’s and had a Round of 16 outing at the US Open. In Tel Aviv this week, he had a tricky encounter against Dominic Thiem first up and then defeated Constant Lestienne in the semifinals in straight sets 7-5,6-3.

This will be the 21st meeting between the duo. Djokovic leads the H2H 18-2. They last met at the 2021 Davis Cup where Djokovic won in straight sets.

Novak Djokovic vs Marin Cilic: Prediction

Novak Djokovic
Novak Djokovic

Djokovic will start as the overwhelming favorite to win the match. He has finally found form and is performing consistently well. He needs to get as much match time as possible and that is the only reason why he’s playing in Israel. Cilic will also fancy his chances to get an elusive win over Djokovic, an opponent he has only beaten twice in 20 chances. Expect a good match with Djokovic winning his second title of the season.

Prediction: Novak Djokovic to win in three sets.

Also Read: Ostrava Open 2022: Women’s Singles Draw Preview and Prediction

Novak Djokovic vs Marin Cilic: Live and Broadcast Details

  • USA – Tennis Channel
  • UK – Amazon Prime Video
  • Australia – beIN Sport
  • France– Eurosport
  • Germany– Tennis Channel
  • Canada –TSN
  • Greece – OTE TV

Novak Djokovic vs Marin Cilic: Match Timings

  • Melbourne– 1:30 AM (next day)
  • Paris– 5:30 PM
  • London– 4:30 PM
  • New York– 11:30 AM
  • Toronto– 11:30 AM
  • India– 9:00 PM

Also Read: “Do you guys f***ing know anything about tennis?” Tennis Twitter enraged the ultimate disrespect shown towards Roger Federer in a retirement tribute photo

Also Read: “Erosion of human rights around the world” Martina Navratilova thrashes Donald Trump and his ‘enablers’ for pathetic homophobic acts towards gays in the USA

Lakshya Chopra is an aspiring sports writer and enthusiast who covers tennis for FirstSportz. He is currently pursuing his B.Tech (Computer) degree from VIIT, Pune. He is the most passionate guy in the room when it comes to Sports. He is hugely inspired by Rafael Nadal.