Home Cricket

Most Ducks in IPL: List of batsmen with most ducks in IPL history

Some of the best batsmen in the IPL's history feature in this dubious list.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been entertaining cricket fans over the past 13 years and it is one of the world’s enormous tournaments. It is a grand spectacle where a battle takes place for the playoffs against 8 teams from different parts of the country.

While we talk about T20 cricket, it’s all about hitting the ball right and score runs for the team to win the match. But if some have stood out and completed exceptionally well, there tends to be some failure too.

Some of the successful IPL legends like Glenn Maxwell, Jacques Kallis, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Gautam Gambhir and Aaron Finch are in the list of top 20 players with most ducks in IPL. But interestingly, none of the overseas players feature in the top 10.

On that note, let’s take a look at the players with most ducks in IPL history:

Mandeep Singh (Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Punjab Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore)2010-20221089516169277*21.411372123.32061417637
RG Sharma (Deccan Chargers, Mumbai Indians)2008-2022226221285877109*30.454513130.2214014519240
PP Chawla (Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians)2008-2021165823258424*11.68526111.0200135418
Harbhajan Singh (Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians)2008-202116390378336415.71604137.9101137942
PA Patel (Chennai Super Kings, Deccan Chargers, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad)2008-20191391371128488122.602358120.780131336549
AM Rahane (Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Rising Pune Supergiant, Rising Pune Supergiants)2008-2022158148164074105*30.863376120.672281343180
AT Rayudu (Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians)2010-2022187174314187100*29.273290127.2612213349164
KD Karthik (Delhi Daredevils, Gujarat Lions, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore)2008-2022227*20543433197*26.733267132.5602013421133
Rashid Khan (Gujarat Titans, Sunrisers Hyderabad)2017-202290*42142944010.50200147.0000121920
SP Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)2012-2022148861710257514.85630162.69041211263
GJ Maxwell (Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore)2012-2022108*1031422469525.231466153.2001312191122
MK Pandey (Kolkata Knight Riders, Lucknow Super Giants, Mumbai Indians, Pune Warriors, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad)2008-2022160149273648114*29.903002121.5112112318105
G Gambhir (Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders)2008-20181541521642179331.003404123.880361249259

Manish Pandey (12 Ducks)

Manish Pandey is one of the players who struggled a lot to shine in the IPL. He was one of the best players of Kolkata Knight Riders and has involved in some match-winning knocks.

Pandey also played a match-winning knock in 2014 season where he also claimed man of the match award and helped Kolkata team to win the title.

However, he seemed out of form for a while when he joined Sunrises Hyderabad. He is also now on the fourth spot on the list of the most ducks in IPL history. Manish has been dismissed 12 times on a duck.

Parthiv Patel (13 Ducks)

Parthiv Patel is one of the players who is a very popular face when it comes to the IPL rather than in the Indian team. The wicketkeeper-batsman has scored 2848 runs in 139 matches in the tournament.

Meanwhile, he has an unwanted record as well, Patel is in second place on the list of most ducks in the IPL history as he returned to the pavilion 13 times without scoring in this tournament.

Harbhajan Singh (13 Ducks)

Harbhajan Singh

Harbhajan Singh is primarily a bowler who is also among the most successful in the history of the IPL. However, his exploits with the bat can’t be ignored as well. The right-hander can hit some lusty blows down the order if required. Possessed with immense power, Harbhajan has delivered with the bat quite a few times.

However, Harbhajan has also flattered to deceive with the bat more often than not as he has got out for a duck a total of 13 times.

Ajinkya Rahane (13 Ducks)

Ajinkya Rahane

India’s test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane is a cool customer more often than not at the crease. He has always been a team man who has delivered when called upon. He has delivered good performances for his sides like the Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Capitals. However, he holds an unwanted record of being dismissed for a duck 13 times in the history of the IPL.

Rohit Sharma (13 Ducks)

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is one of the most successful players in the IPL both as a batsman and as a captain. He is the holder of a plethora of records in the tournament. However, one such record is an unwanted one as he has the joint highest number of ducks in the tournament’s history with 13.

Also Read: Here are the top 5 highest run-scorers in IPL history