India vs New Zealand: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul named captain and vice-captain; Venkatesh Iyer receives maiden call-up

Hardik Pandya and Varun Chakravarthy also failed to find their names in the squad for the limited-over matches.

Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul
Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday announced a 16-member national squad for the upcoming home Twenty20 International (T20I) series against New Zealand. Opening batter Rohit Sharma has been named as the captain of the side while his partner KL Rahul will be his deputy for the 3-match series, starting from November 17.

Some of the experienced players such as Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested. The 2021 T20 World Cup members – Hardik Pandya and Varun Chakravarthy are also not there in the list of 16 players for the white-ball matches against the Blackcaps. On the other hand, plenty of new faces in form of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Venkatesh Iyer, and Harshal Patel have found their place in the side.

Here is the full Indian squad for the New Zealand series:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, and Mohammed Siraj

BCCI named India A squad for South Africa tour

Priyank Panchal
Priyank Panchal

The selection committee, headed by former India cricketer Chetan Sharma, also announced the India A squad for the South Africa tour, scheduled to start from 23 November in Bloemfontein. Gujarat’s all-rounder Priyank Panchal is set to lead the team comprising of some decent names like Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Rahul Chahar, Navdeep Saini and many more. The Asian Giants will play three four-day matches during the tour.

India A Squad:

Priyank Panchal (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, Baba Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Also Read | T20 World Cup 2021: Dinesh Karthik picks only one Indian player in his team of the tournament