“Best ever clutch player I have ever seen”- Glenn Maxwell redeems himself as century gets Australia 2-1 in the series, Indian netizens furious as India fail to defend 223 

Despite scoring a massive 222 in the first innings, India failed to defend the target as Glenn Maxwell's heroic led the team to their first win of the series.

“Best ever clutch player I have ever seen”- Glenn Maxwell redeems himself as century gets Australia 2-1 in the series, Indian netizens furious as India fail to defend 223 

Mathew Wade and Glenn Maxwell celebrate a historic win (Image via ESPN)

When Glenn Maxwell came into bat, Australia had lost their first two wickets in the powerplay. He had earlier given 30 runs in the final over of the Indian team, which got India to 222 runs in their 20 overs. He now aimed to lead his country to victory and erase his final over. And that’s exactly what he did. 

Despite needing 223 in 20 overs, Maxwell managed to finish the match for the champions, with Mathew Wade supported him with a useful 28* off 16. Ruturaj Gaikwad’s brilliant century came in a losing cause as the Indian bowlers failed to defend the massive target. 


Glenn Maxwell scored a match winning 104* to get Australia win of the 5-match T20i series, with the score line now being 2-1. Coming in to bat when Australia were 66-2, Maxwell had to deal with losing Josh Inglis, Marcus Stoinis and Tim David getting dismissed but he did not stop playing his shots. He reached his century in 47 balls, the joint fastest T20i century by an Australian, and finished the match on the last ball. 

Despite the World Cup champions needing 75 in the last 4 overs, the Indian bowling failed to defend it. Prasidh Krishna bowled the most expensive T20 spell by an Indian bowler, conceding 68 runs in 4 overs while also being the 4th most expensive spell in T20I cricket. Arshdeep Singh also conceded 44 runs, going 10+ runs per over for the 4th time in 2023. 

Related: “Pure cricketing brilliance”- Netizens bow down to Ruturaj Gaikwad as the opener scores his maiden T20i Century against Australia 


Fans call out Indian stars for failing to win a winnable match 

Although many fans praised Glenn Maxwell for his clutch innings, fans were quick to point at the players who cost India the match. The first to be called out was Prasidh Krishna, who conceded 68 runs.

Suryakumar Yadav and Prasidh Krishna
Suryakumar Yadav and Prasidh Krishna were called out by Indian fans (Image via ESPN)

Ishan Kishan had appealed for a stumping in the 19th over, but after the 3rd Umpire went through the footage, he noticed Kishan breaking rules. As Kishan’s gloves were ahead of the stumps when he collected the ball, it was called a no ball. In the same over, he failed to stop a ball that went for a boundary. Suryakumar Yadav had dropped Wade in the 18th over and as a captain failed to defend the target, so he drew criticism as well. 

Check out their reactions here: 


India and Australia will now travel to Raipur to play the 4th T20i of the 5 match T20i series. India will want to finish the match as winners of the series, but Australia will attempt to cause another upset. Australia will also be without key players, with Sean Abbott, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Steven Smith and Adam Zampa returning back home.

In case you missed:

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!