WATCH: Only TWO journalists attend Suryakumar Yadav’s first press conference as captain 

Suryakumar Yadav had the shock of his life as he answered queries to only 2 journalists in a 4-minute press conference.

WATCH: Only TWO journalists attend Suryakumar Yadav’s first press conference as captain 

Suryakumar Yadav speaks to the press (Image via ESPN)

Suryakumar Yadav has been handed the responsibility and honor of being an Indian captain as he leads a young Indian side in a 5- match T20I series against Australia. Just days after losing the World Cup finals to the Aussies, they will play each other again. On the eve of the first T20I, the Indian captain went to talk to the press but received the shock of his life. 


As he took his place, Kumar was surprised with the low turnout, saying, “Only two people?” In a short press conference of only 4 minutes, two reporters from ANI and PTI took turns asking questions until they ran out of them. From Rohit Sharma entertaining the press for long times to Kumar only having two reporters, it was a huge difference. 

In the first T20I, Kumar won his first toss and elected to bowl first. India started the powerplay well, with Ravi Bishnoi picking up the wicket of opener, Mathew Short, in his first over. Australia managed to only put up 40 in the powerplay, but Josh Inglis counter-attacked and reached his maiden T20I half-century in 29 balls. 

Suryakumar Yadav is the 9th T20I captain India has had since 2021 

In the past, the Indian management used to expect their captain to be available for all matches they played. But in the modern era of cricket, where cricketers play 3 formats and injuries have been more common, many players are given rests. After Hardik Pandya injured himself against Bangladesh in the World Cup, Suryakumar Yadav has taken the important role of captain against Australia. 

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (Image via ESPN)

He is India’s 9th T20I captain since 2021. Virat Kohli started 2021 as the captain, but resigned before the 2021 T20 World Cup. While the Indian team were touring England for a 5-match Test series, Shikhar Dhawan led an Indian side that toured Sri Lanka. After Kohli’s resignation, Rohit Sharma was appointed as the new T20I captain. When Sharma was given rest due to his workload, Rishabh Pant was appointed as captain for only one series. 

After the 2022 World Cup, Sharma shifted his focus to Tests and ODIs. Due to this, Hardik Pandya took over the role as captain, but even he was given rests with KL Rahul replacing him. While India toured the West Indies, Jasprit Bumrah led the Indian team in Ireland. Ruturaj Gaikwad led the Indian team to the Gold Medal during the 2022 Asian Games as well. 

In case you missed!