WATCH: Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, and MS Dhoni land in Jamnagar Airport for pre-wedding of Anant Ambani 

The Ambani family had invited many big names to the pre-wedding event, and had also got pop-star Rihanna to perform.

WATCH: Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, and MS Dhoni land in Jamnagar Airport for pre-wedding of Anant Ambani 

Anant Ambani and Radhika Merchant's pre-wedding event had Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni and Sachin Tendulkar as guests (Images via X)

Anant Ambani, the son of Mukesh Ambani and Nita Ambani, is getting married on July 12. He will be tying the knot with his fiance, Radhika Merchant. Although they are getting married in July, the Ambani family decided to host an pre-wedding event in Jamnagar, which has seen many popular celebrities, business tycoons and cricketers attend. 

One of those cricketers is the Indian captain, Rohit Sharma. Sharma currently plays for Mumbai Indians, which is owned by the Ambani family and run by Akash Ambani. Alongside Sharma, former Mumbai Indians captain Sachin Tendulkar and former Indian captain MS Dhoni also came.

MI players like Suryakumar Yadav, Zaheer Khan, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan and coach Greame Smith also were invited. The non-indian players that attended the event were Sam Curran, Rashid Khan and Dwayne Bravo.

The event has popular artist, Rihanna, performing with reports of her being paid ₹74 crore. Billionaires like Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerberg, Gautam Adani and Sundar Pichai are also present. 

Involvement of the Ambani family in cricket 

The Ambani family and Reliance have been involved in cricket for over 30 years. When the World Cup came to India for the first time in 1987, Reliance were the sponsors. Infact, Dhirubhai Ambani had handed over the World Cup trophy to the Australian team. 

Mukesh Ambani
Mukesh Ambani with the Mumbai Indians (Image via ESPN)

Twenty years later, his son Mukesh Ambani purchased the Mumbai franchise of the brand new Indian Premier League. The team was named Mumbai Indians, and it was the most expensive team to be purchased. 

In the 16 years they have competed in the IPL, MI have won the title five times. They have also won the Champions League T20 twice, once in 2011 and once in 2013. They have a women’s team as well, which participates in the WPL. MI won the inaugural season of the competition. 

They also have teams in the Major League Cricket, SA20 and International League T20. They are called MI New York, MI Cape Town and MI Emirates. Out of these three teams, only MI CT have failed to win their league. 

In case you missed!