Trinbago Knight Riders rope in Isuru Udana for CPL 2021

The addition of Isuru Udana who possesses similar abilities as the outgoing Dwayne Bravo would be a huge benefit for the Knight Riders.

Isuru Udana
Isuru Udana

Defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders have roped in the services of the Sri Lankan all-rounder Isuru Udana for the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2021.

CPL 2021 will be Udana’s first appearance in the grand league. Interestingly, he was one of the biggest buys in the 2019 CPL as he was picked up by St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots for USD 160,000. Unfortunately, he had to miss out on the season due to international commitments.

Isuru Udana is one of the most versatile all-rounders for Sri Lanka. His ability to bowl cutters and also strike the ball at the death makes him a valuable asset. He is an experienced campaigner in the T20 arena. Udana has featured in 159 T20 matches and has grabbed 165 wickets at an economy of 8.06. He also scored 1036 runs in the process at a decent strike rate of 130.64.

Isuru Udana can be the perfect replacement for Dwayne Bravo

Isuru Udana
Isuru Udana

Trinbago Knight Riders have been the undisputed champions of the Caribbean Premier League. The Knight Riders have won four CPL titles in eight seasons, two more than the Jamaica Tallawahs and Barbados Tridents. After assembling a well-balanced squad, they will try for a fifth title in the CPL 2021.

Trinbago Knight Riders will miss the services of the veteran Dwayne Bravo who has played a key role in their success. But, the addition of Isuru Udana who possesses similar abilities as Bravo would be a huge benefit for the Knight Riders.

They have Kieron Pollard as their captain, who is one of the best T20 players in the world. The likes of Colin Munro, Sunil Narine, Lendl Simmons, and Darren Bravo make them a lethal side. TKR have also added Ravi Pampaul, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sikandar Raza, and Denesh Ramdin to the squad for CPL 2021.

Trinbago Knight Riders full squad

Kieron Pollard (Captain), Ravi Rampaul, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Sandeep Lamichhane, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Leonardo Julian, Ali Khan, Khary Pierre, Isuru Udana, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Denesh Ramdin.

Also Read: Remainder of IPL 2021 to be held in UAE, BCCI confirms

Also Read: PSL 2021: ‘Really looking forward to batting with Babar Azam,’ says Karachi Kings’ latest pick Martin Guptill