Former US President Barack Obama congratulates Spain over 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup win, also drops a message for USWNT

Spain Women's Football Team lift their first World Cup.

Former US President Barack Obama congratulates Spain over 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup win, also drops a message for USWNT

(L-R) Donovan, Obama, Beckham. (Source: via Getty Images)

Spain Women’s Football Team are the new World Champions after beating England in the 2023 FIFA World Cup. Former US President, Barack Obama, congratulated La Furia Roja on winning their first-ever World Cup victory. He also backed the US Women’s team stating, ‘They will be back’.

Barack Obama has a history with football. Apart from supporting the US Men’s and Women’s teams, he was once seen at a West Ham game before his Presidency in 2003. The English club then personally invited the US President to view their games. He is a huge fan of Argentine legend, Lionel Messi. In 2017 it was found that Barack Obama only followed one European club Darmstadt, currently in the Bundesliga. All this proves that Barack Obama’s tweet regarding football should not come as a surprise.

The USWNT won the World Cup once during Obama’s tenure as President. A win over Japan in 2015, saw the US lift the title for the 3rd time in their history. This means that the US Women’s Team has won the most World Cups since its inception in 1991. They would later go on to win the 2019 World Cup in dominant fashion. Their win in 2019 also meant that they were the only other team, besides Germany, to have won a World Cup two times in a row.

While Obama congratulated the Spanish team, he believes the US will be back. The USA who had won the previous two World Cups were aiming for a three-peat. Sweden put those hopes to bed after beating them on penalties.

Related: WATCH: English keeper Mary Earps tells Spain to ‘f*ck off’ after saving crucial penalty in 2023 FIFA World Cup final

USA’s back-to-back World Cups

USWNT celebrates the 2015 World Cup.
USWNT celebrates the 2015 World Cup. (Source: via Reuters)

The 2015 World Cup, under Obama’s Presidency, was their third World Cup win since 1999. 12 goals were scored throughout the tournament, conceding 3 along the way. Carli Lloyd was their top scorer with 6 goals. She also had the most assists with 3, shared with 3 other players. Carli Lloyd was awarded the Golden Ball and US goalkeeper Hope Solo was awarded the Golden Glove.

The US Women’s Team were incredibly dominant in their 2019 run to the World Cup. Undefeated in their games, 26 goals scored, 14 more than their total in 2015. 2 goals conceded. 4 clean sheets in 6 games. Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe both ended the tournament with 6 goals each. Rapinoe would receive both the Golden Ball and the Golden Boot.

With a rather disappointing end to their 2023 campaign, the girls in white will be looking to learn and improve from their performances.

In case you missed: