Inter Milan and Bayern Munich extend their special streak at FIFA World Cup even after 40 years

Inter Milan and Bayern Munich extend their special streak at FIFA World Cup even after 40 years

During the 1982 FIFA World Cup Spain final, Beppe Bergomi, Gabriele Oriali, and Alessandro Altobelli of Italy faced Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Paul Breitner, and Wolfgang Dremmler of West Germany, and this is when the tournament’s most remarkable streak started. Since then, every final has included at least one player from Inter Milan and Bayern Munich.


They aren’t always on opposing teams, as Mexico ’86 demonstrated when West Germany returned to face Argentina. They had Lothar Matthaus, Dieter Hoeness, and Norbert Eder from Bayern, as well as Rummenigge from Inter, who had switched from Bavaria to Milan two years before.

They were defeated by a Diego Maradona-inspired Argentina, but the rematch in Italia ’90 extended the aforementioned streak. Matthaus won the trophy as an Inter player, alongside Jurgen Klinsmann and final match-winner Andrea Brehme, while Bayern was represented by Klaus Augenthaler, Jurgen Kohler, and Stefan Reuter.

With Inter’s Nicola Berti, Italy returned for the USA ’94 tournament final against Brazil in which they had right-back Jorginho from the German heavyweights. In 1998, the Seleço returned and faced France at Les Bleus’ home field. Bixente Lizarazu of Bayern and Youri Djorkaeff of Inter both made their appearances for France.


Inter Milan & Bayern Munich’s FIFA World Cup streak continued even after the turn of century

Korea/Japan 2002 would be Ronaldo’s tournament; he would arrive at the final game versus Germany as the clear favourite to win the Adidas Golden Shoe and prepared to face Oliver Kahn, Carsten Jancker, Thomas Linke, and Jens Jeremies of Bayern. That evening, the quartet was helpless to stop O Fenômeno.

Marco Materazzi, the sole representative of Inter in 2006 final, headed Italy’s goal in the 19th minute after Zinedine Zidane had given France the lead. Willy Sagnol of Bayern scored France’s penalty kick, but the Azzurri won thanks to David Trezeguet’s earlier miss.

Mark Van Bommel and Arjen Robben of Bayern joined Inter’s star midfielder Wesley Sneijder in South Africa 2010 final, marking the first time since Italia ’90 that players from both clubs played for the same side. A player from neither club would win the trophy for the first time since 1986 when Spain narrowly defeated the Netherlands with a goal in the 116th minute from Andres Iniesta.

The Germans upheld their half of the bargain in the 2014 Brazil final, with seven Bayern players including Phillip Lahm, Toni Kroos, and Thomas Muller winning the match. Three Inter players from Argentina did not make the game’s opening kickoff.


The flagbearers for Inter may have been supporting players at the Maracana, but in Russia 2018, the roles were almost completely reversed. Inter’s incredibly brilliant Marcelo Brozovic and Ivan Perisic led Croatia against all odds to their first-ever final, where they faced France. As for Bayern, Corentin Tolisso continued their unusual streak at Moscow.

Related:“Sadly yesterday the dream ended” – Cristiano Ronaldo bids farewell from FIFA World Cup football after Portugal’s disappointing defeat against Morocco

Bayern Munich & Inter Milan will have one representative at least at the 2022 FIFA World Cup

As for the current edition, in Qatar 2022, Croatia, Argentina, France & Morocco are the only contenders remaining. Argentina will face off against Croatia in the first semifinals whereas France takes on high-flying Morocco. As for the streak, Inter will surely have one player in the final as one of Lautaro Martinez or Brozovic will emerge victorious in Argentina-Croatia semifinals.

The same goes for Bayern as Noussair Mazraoui’s Morocco will face the daunting task of eliminating France to become the first African country to reach the World Cup final. Bayern have three players in the French squad with Upamecano, Pavard and Coman all making the cut. So, the extraordinary streak continues for more than 40 years whatever the outcome of 2022 World Cup may be.


Also Read: FIFA opens legal proceedings against Argentina for disrespectful behavior towards Netherlands staff members at 2022 FIFA World Cup

Also Read: “I will tell them about the empire he built,” Cristiano Ronaldo’s sister shares a wholesome message in support of her brother after Portugal’s 2022 FIFA World Cup exit