Harmanpreet Kaur, Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana named as captains for Women’s T20 Challenge

The Women's T20 Challenge will be played from November 4 to 9 in the UAE.

Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced Harmanpreet Kaur, Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana as captains for the upcoming Women’s T20 Challenge. They will be captains of Supernovas, Velocty and Trailblazers respectively. The three teams will compete in the upcoming Women’s T20 Challenge which will be played from 4th November to 9th November in the UAE.

The best of Indian women’s cricket will combine with some of the leading stars from England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and New Zealand in a four-match tournament.

Overseas players to also take part

Thai Cricketer Nantakkan Chantam

The three teams will have overseas stars playing for them as well. Sophie Ecclestone, the No. 1-ranked T20I bowler, and Danni Wyatt who both appeared in the 2019 edition, are the two England representations, while other big names include West Indies allrounder Deandra Dottin, Sri Lanka’s current captain Chamari Atapattu and former captain Shashikala Siriwardene.

Thailand are also represented for first time in the form of Natakkan Chantam.

All the three squads will be put up at one hotel, most likely in Dubai, and will be part of a biosecure bubble. Just like the eight IPL franchises, the women’s contingent will undergo a mandatory six-day quarantine at the team hotel during which tests will be carried out

Also Read: MS Dhoni on CSK’s defeat against RCB


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here