IPL 2020: All Ex-RCB players shine in Kings XI Punjab victory over against Royal Challengers Bangalore

KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Chris Jordan and Murugan Ashwin: All these players have played for RCB, before joining Kings XI Punjab.

Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, KL Rahul, Chris Jordan
Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, KL Rahul, Chris Jordan (L-R)

Kings XI Punjab played yet another close encounter in the 13th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) but, this time the result came in their favour. KXIP clinched the game on the last ball off Yuzvendra Chahal with eight wickets in hand. With this victory, the Punjab-based franchise gained two crucial points to keep themselves alive in the tournament. 

Interestingly, KXIP had as many as five former Royal Challengers Bangalore players in their side, and all of them contributed with either bat or ball. KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Chris Jordan and Murugan Ashwin– all these players are currently members of the Punjab-based franchise. But before this, all five players had featured for RCB in the early editions of the tournament.

Also Read | IPL 2020 RCB vs KXIP: Universe boss Chris Gayle announces return in style as KXIP beat RCB by 8 wickets in a nail-biting finish

Chris Jordan, Murugan Ashwin stars in bowling 

Chris Jordan and Murugan Ashwin
Chris Jordan and Murugan Ashwin

Kings XI Punjab showed one of their best bowling performances thus far in the tournament. They conceded a below-par total of 171-6 against power-packed Royal Challengers Bangalore batting unit. Murugan Ashwin emerged as the pick of their bowlers with his spell of 4-0-23-2. He took the crucial wickets of Aaron Finch and Washington Sundar in the match. 

Apart from Ashwin, England bowling all-rounder Chris Jordan also bowled well during his economical spell of three overs. He also took the wicket of Shivam Dube in the middle-overs of the first inning. Both of them have been members of RCB, before joining the Kings.

Rahul, Agarwal and Gayle won it with the bat

bangalore players in punjab
Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Chris Gayle (L-R)

Chasing 172 was never going to be difficult for KXIP as they had multiple match-winners in their batting attack. KXIP openers Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul gave them a flying start, and Chris Gayle joined them too for his maiden half-century of the season. 

Three of them ended with the respective individual scores of 45, 61* and 53 to win the game for their franchise. Skipper KL Rahul even won the ‘Man of the Match’ award for brilliant knock.

Also Read | IPL 2020: Fans go crazy as Chris Gayle the ‘Universe Boss’ returns with a bang


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here