IPL 2020: Ranking the spin bowling attack of all 8 franchises

In IPL 2020, spin bowling is expected to play an important role in the slow and low decks of UAE. Here we rank the spin bowling attack of all eight IPL teams.


The 13th edition of the IPL is being played in UAE. The pitches of UAE are well known to be slow and spin friendly. Hence teams with the best spin attacks will have an extra edge over the others. Here we take a look at the spin bowling options of all the eight IPL teams and rank them based on their strength.

8) Rajasthan Royals

Shreyas Gopal
  • Shreyas Gopal
  • Mayank Markande
  • Mahipal Lomror
  • Shashank Singh
  • Riyan Parag
  • Rahul Tewatia
  • Anirudha Joshi

RR probably have the weakest spin attack with not a single spinner having a lot of international experience. But they have got talented Shreyas Gopal and will be expected to lead the spin attack.

7) Mumbai Indians

Rahul Chahar
Rahul Chahar
  • Krunal Pandya
  • Rahul Chahar
  • Jayant Yadav
  • Anukul Roy

Mumbai don’t possess any spinner with a lot of international experience. But Rahul Chahar and Krunal Pandya, both of whom are likely to be picked. They have always punched above their weights for the team which means MI are in safe hands with regard to spinners.

6) Kings XI Punjab

Mujeeb Ur Rahman
  • Mujeeb Ur Rahman
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • J. Suchith
  • Harpreet Brar
  • Ravi Bishnoi
  • Tajinder Dhillon
  • Murugan Ashwin
  • Krishnappa Gowtham
  • Deepak Hooda

KXIP have the wily Mujeeb in their ranks but they don’t have good second spinning options, that’s where problems might arise. The team will have to choose between K Gowtham, Ravi Bishnoi, Murugan Ashwin and J Suchith, none of whom inspire confidence.

5) .Kolkata Knight Riders

Sunil Narine
  • Sunil Narine
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Varun Chakravarthy
  • M Siddharth
  • Chris Green
  • Nitish Rana

KKR have two of the best spinners in the world in Sunil Narine and Kuldeep Yadav. However, with the release of Piyush Chawla, the third spinning option seems a problem. It will be between Varun Chakravarthy, Chris Green or the part time off break of Nitish Rana.

4) Royal Challengers Bangalore

Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Pawan Negi
  • Washington Sundar
  • Adam Zampa
  • Moeen Ali

RCB look really dangerous with their talented spin attack. World class leggies in Chahal and Zampa and offies in Moeen Ali and Washington Sundar hold them in really good stead this season.

3) Sunrisers Hyderabad

Rasidh Khan
  • Rashid Khan
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Shahbaz Nadeem
  • Abhishek Sharma
  • Sandeep Bavanaka
  • Fabian Allen
  • Abdul Samad

While SRH do have one of the hottest properties in T20 cricket in Rashid Khan, the question is whether he will be complemented well by other spinners. The team will be able to pick only one out of Nabi or Allen, two reliable allrounders. This means SRH would probably go with slow left-armer Nadeem as the third option.

2) Chennai Super Kings

Ravindra Jadeja
  • Piyush Chawla
  • R Sai Kishore
  • Imran Tahir
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Karn Sharma
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Kedar Jadhav

CSK possess a lot of world class spinners. But in the absence of Harbhajan Singh there is not a single spinner in the squad who can turn the ball away from left-handers which could hurt CSK against teams that are southpaw-heavy.

1) Delhi Capitals

Mishra and Ashwin
  • Axar Patel
  • Amit Mishra
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Sandeep Lamichhane
  • Lalit Yadav

Delhi have a well equipped spin attack. With players with a lot of international experience like Amit Mishra, Axar Patel and Ravi Ashwin in the squad, DC shouldn’t have problems in the spin department.

ALSO READ| IPL 2020: Rohit Sharma, De Kock to open for Mumbai Indians


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here