IPL 2021: Kieron Pollard’s masterclass pulls off a stunning last-ball win for Mumbai Indians

Kieron Pollard scored 87 runs from 34 balls to win it for Mumbai Indians off the very last ball.

Kieron Pollard
Kieron Pollard

Mumbai Indians (MI) got past Chennai Super Kings (CSK) thanks to a masterclass in power hitting from Kieron Pollard who hit 87 runs in 34 balls to take his side home off the last ball of the match in the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Feroz Shah Kotla (Arun Jaitley Stadium) in Delhi.

The ‘El Clasico’ of the IPL as it is called by fans, delivered the goods in classic fashion as it produced yet another tale in an epic rivalry between the two teams – ending in a close MI win yet again. It was a crucial win as well as far as Mumbai were concerned as it meant that they have got 4 wins in the first half of the league phase which should hold them in good stead for the second half and their hopes of making it to the playoffs.

Kieron Pollard pulls off the unthinkable

Kieron Pollard
Kieron Pollard celebrates the win

Earlier, CSK were put in to bat and got off to a bad start as they lost Ruturaj Gaikwad early. However, Faf du Plessis and Moeen Ali struck quick-fire fifties before a two-wicket burst from Kieron Pollard brought MI back into the game. It was then the Ambati Rayudu show as the No. 5 batsman went berserk and hit the ball around the park en route a superb knock of 72 runs in just 27 balls.

In the chase, Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock got their side off to an assured start but their wickets followed by that of Suryakumar Yadav brought Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard together. It was then that the Pollard show started as the West Indian deposited balls into the stands at will. It was all too easy for him but still, the target was extremely stiff and it all boiled down to the last ball of the match with 2 required which Pollard was able to get to seal a thrilling win for his side.


CSK innings

Ruturaj Gaikwad c HH Pandya b Boult4410100.00
Faf du Plessis c Bumrah b Pollard502824178.57
Moeen Ali c †de Kock b Bumrah583655161.11
Suresh Raina c KH Pandya b Pollard240050.00
Ambati Rayudu not out722747266.66
Ravindra Jadeja not out222220100.00

Total – 218/4 in 20 overs

Trent Boult4042110.50104310
Dhawal Kulkarni4048012.0073420
Jasprit Bumrah4056114.0054421
Rahul Chahar403208.0080310
James Neesham2026013.0032200
Kieron Pollard201226.0041010

MI innings

Quinton de Kock †c & b Ali382841135.71
Rohit Sharma (c)c Gaikwad b Thakur352441145.83
Suryakumar Yadav c †Dhoni b Jadeja3300100.00
Krunal Pandya lbw b Curran322322139.13
Kieron Pollard not out873468255.88
Hardik Pandya c du Plessis b Curran16702228.57
James Neesham c Thakur b Curran01000.00
Dhawal Kulkarni not out00000.00

Total – 219/6 in 20 overs

Deepak Chahar403709.2584120
Sam Curran403438.50113210
Lungi Ngidi4062015.5035500
Shardul Thakur4056114.0044350
Ravindra Jadeja302919.6650300
Moeen Ali10111.0050000

Also Read: IPL 2021: Pandya brothers and family donate 200 oxygen concentrators to rural parts of India

Also Read: Shoaib Malik confirms that he has no plans to retire in the near future