IPL teams with most 200+ totals: List of top 5 IPL sides who have crossed 200 the most number of times

Royal Challengers Bangalore lead this list, having crossed the score 22 times.

Action from a match between RCB and CSK

200 is considered a magic number in T20 cricket. Similar to 300 (or 400 rather, given how batsman-oriented the game has become), it is a score that gives the batting side (in the first innings) an added security or as is said often by commentators ‘a psychological advantage’. If the score comes in the second innings, one can be assured that the match is a cracker for the ages with regard to its intensity.

While scoring 200+ scores regularly does not particularly lead to winning titles or the like as is evidenced by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) topping the list, it is still a very good record to have. We take a look at the top 5 teams who have crossed the score of 200 most times in IPL history.

SNTeamNumber of 200+ scores
1Royal Challengers Bangalore22
2Chennai Super Kings20
3Punjab Kings15
4Mumbai Indians15
5Kolkata Knight Riders12

5. Kolkata Knight Riders – 12 times

Andre Russell
Andre Russell

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have been among the more consistent teams in the history of the IPL. They have won the tournament twice and have always had an excellent pool of talent in their squad. Armed for a major part of their history with big hitters like Andre Russell, there is no doubt as to why they find themselves in the top 5.

In fact, KKR crossed the 200-run mark in the very first match of the IPL as Brendon McCullum blazed to 158* to well and truly begin the tournament in grand fashion.

4. Mumbai Indians – 15 times

Kieron Pollard
Kieron Pollard

The most successful team in IPL history, MI don’t find themselves very high in the list and haven’t chased down a total in excess of 200 even once. If anything, this proves that they have excellent all-round talent and that they don’t need to rely solely on their batting. They have crossed the 200-run mark 15 times.

With players like Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya taking up finishing duties, once again, there is no surprise and the number is only bound to increase fast.

3. Punjab Kings – 15 times

KL Rahul
KL Rahul

Punjab Kings (formerly Kings XI Punjab) have also aced the landmark of 200 runs a total of 15 times. But, by virtue of getting to the 15th 200+ total faster than MI, they find themselves in the 3rd spot here. The franchise has been inconsistent at times but there is no questioning the batting wealth that they have.

With players like KL Rahul in prime for, PBKS would want to add to the tally in this year’s IPL.

2. Chennai Super Kings – 20 times

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni

The MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings (CSK) did not feature in the IPL for two seasons due to their ban and yet, they find themselves in the second spot here having notched up a score in excess of 200 as many as 20 times in their history. Boasting perpetually of excellent finishers, none better than the skipper, the side’s batting has been its strength.

After a disastrous 2020 season, the side seems to be on the wane but a good auction would boost the side ahead of this edition where more such 200+ scores would be demanded from the players by the coaching staff and the captain.

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 22 times

ab de villiers superhumar
Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have always been associated with fireworks. Possessing two of the best all-format cricketers in the history of the sport in Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, it is a no brainer if one has to guess which team has aced 200+ scores more often than anybody else. Add to the mix, Chris Gayle who had his best years in the tournament with RCB and you have the perfect recipe for inducing fear in the bowlers’ minds.

200+ scores have been crossed a whopping 22 times by the RCB franchise and come the 2021 edition of the IPL, the focus would not be on crossing the mark more times but on getting their hands on the trophy that has been eluding them from the very beginning.

Also Read: IPL 2021: Jimmy Neesham comes up with hilarious response to fan who asked him about Royal Challengers Bangalore’s chances of winning the tournament

Also Read: IPL 2021: Michael Vaughan predicts Mumbai Indians as the winner of the tournament; Wasim Jaffer reacts