Kapil Dev names star-studded ‘Kapil XI’, Sachin-Sehwag to open

My wicket Keeper is only MS Dhoni, nobody can touch his spot: Kapil Dev said in awe of the 2011 World Cup-winning skipper

Kapil Dev, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag (L-R)
WhatsApp Image 2020 11 24 at 10.03.22 AM - FirstSportz
Kapil Dev, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag (L-R)

Former India skipper Kapil Dev recently named his ‘Kapil XI’ consisting of ace Indian cricketers. The 1983 World Cup-winning captain said these players would differ according to the format of the game.

The 61-year old picked one of the best opening pairs of all-time, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag to begin with his side. At number, Kapil named current Indian skipper Virat Kohli. The legendary cricketer chose Rahul Dravid and Yuvraj Singh as the middle-order batsmen. 

Also Read | ‘The best coach we’ve played under’ – Yuvraj Singh pens heartfelt message for birthday boy Gary Kirsten

“There’s a Test match that’s different, there’s a One Day cricket is different. ODI…if I have to pick, I would definitely say Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, will be there, Rahul Dravid will be there, Yuvraj will be there,” said Kapil Dev on the show No Filter with Neha.

Nobody can touch MS Dhoni’s spot: Kapil Dev

MS Dhoni Most Memorable Moments 1 - FirstSportz
MS Dhoni: Greatest Indian wicket-keeper to ever play

Kapil Dev picked 2011 World Cup-winning skipper MS Dhoni as the wicket-keeper for his XI. He went on to say that no one can replace Dhoni at this spot. The former all-rounder named Zaheer Khan and Javagal Srinath as the two pacers to join Jasprit Bumrah from the current lot.

He picked India’s most successful spin bowling duo of Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh to complete his lineup. 

“Wicket Keeper is only Dhoni. Nobody can touch his spot. You have Zaheer Khan, you have Srinath. Recently Bhumrah, I can say. He’s done extremely well. Anil Kumble, all-time great spinner, and Harbhajan. These are the cricketers who come to my mind very much there,” he added.

Kapil Dev’s ‘Kapil XI’ – Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah

Also Read | “Won’t have any problem if batsmen don’t struggle” – Kapil Dev doubtful of India’s batting prowess sans Virat Kohli