List of Records broken by ‘Incredible’ Naomi Osaka; as she wins her 4th Grand Slam title

World no.3 Naomi Osaka wins her 4th grand slam title, breaks many records in the process.

EuqPrwgVIAI4vsI - FirstSportz
Naomi Osaka

Japanese Naomi Osaka overcomes Jennifer Brady 6-4,6-3 to win her 2nd Australian Open title at the Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne. Osaka, the first Japanese player to win a major, extended her perfect record in a major final with a resounding win over the first-time finalist.

After triumphing over the likes of Serena Williams, Garbine Muguruza, Ons Jabeur, and Hsieh Su-wei during her stay in Melbourne, she downed the American with ease. Although the first set proved to be a tricky for the third seed, Osaka wrapped things up quickly in the second despite suffering a tiny bobble in the middle.

Naomi Osaka has not lost a match in more than a year

resized image Promo 5 1 - FirstSportz
Naomi Osaka

In winning her 4th grand slam title, Naomi Osaka has broken and set some records in the process.

She has become the first player since Monica Seles to win her first four grand slam finals. And in doing so, 4 of her 7 career titles are majors!

Players to win their first four Slam finals in the Open era (since 1968): Monica Seles, Roger Federer and Naomi Osaka.

Naomi Osaka also becomes the first player (men or women) to win a 4th Grand Slam singles title since Maria Sharapova at Roland Garros 2012. Andy Murray, Stan Wawrinka, Angie Kerber all stopped at three since then.

The Japanese ties the likes of Kim Clijsters, Hana Mandlikova and Arantxa Sanchez with four Grand Slam titles. She has now passed Jennifer Capriati, Lindsay Davenport and Angelique Kerber.

Osaka will now become the world no.2 in the new rankings next week, only behind Ashleigh Barty. She is also on a 21-match winning streak, and has not lost a match in over a year!

The women’s circuit has been getting more and more versatile over the past decade. After the 2001 Australian Open, there were 14 different active finalists. The number grew to 15 after the 2011 Australian Open. And now, after the 2021 Australian Open the count has gone to 25!

In the final, Osaka is just 23 and Brady just 25. And with this win, a woman 25 or under has won a major eighth time in the past nine majors.

Also read: Australian Open 2021: Twitter reacts as Naomi Osaka defeats Jennifer Brady to win her 2nd Australian Open title