Pernille Harder: UEFA Women’s Player of the year and UEFA forward of the year

UEFA Award function for the 2019/20 season was held along with the group stage draw yesterday. These events were held at Geneva, Switzerland.


Chelsea forward Pernille Harder who was a part of Wolfsburg last season won the UEFA Women’s Player of the year award for the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League. She was also named the UEFA Women’s forward of the year. The Danish striker was presented with the awards in the award function conducted by UEFA yesterday at Geneva, Switzerland.

Pernille Harder had an amazing season with Wolfsburg last year.  The leading goal scorer for Wolfsburg led them to Frauen Bundesliga glory. This is her second UEFA Women’s player of the year award. She won her first award back in 2017/18.

Voting result

55 journalists who represented each of the UEFA’s member associations along with managers of clubs who were a part of the relevant group stage of UCL and UEL casted their votes. The nominees ranked in the following order after the voting process:

  • Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg, now Chelsea FC & Denmark) – 92 points
  • Wendie Renard (Lyon & France) – 81 points
  • Lucy Bronze (Lyon, now City & England) – 28 points
Pernille Harder

Pernille Harder’s 2019/20 season

Harder won the Frauen Bundesliga last year when she was a player of Wolfsburg. She made seven appearances in the UEFA Champions League and scored nine goals. In Bundesliga she represented Wolfsburg 21 times and scored 27 goals.  It is to be noted that Harder is the most expensive transfer in Women football history.

Pernille Harder

Harder’s 27 goal tally in the Frauren Bundesliga is the highest tally for a woman footballer since Inka Grings’s record tally in the in 2009/10 season. Pernille Harder was also the top scorer in 2018/19 season. Harder’s pursuit for Champions league glory was put to an end last season by Lyon as usual. But Pernille Harder will continue her search of UCL glory this season from Chelsea.

ALSO READ| Robert Lewandowski: UEFA Men’s Player of the year and UEFA forward of the year


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here