IPL 2021: WATCH – Ravichandran Ashwin gets run-out while attempting a double; Twitter reacts

Ravichandran Ashwin was run-out for 7 runs in 4 deliveries as an accurate throw by David Miller and a good take by Sanju Samson found him short.

Ravichandran Ashwin run-out
Ravichandran Ashwin's run-out

Delhi Capitals (DC) who had a terrific batting performance in their opening match of the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) could not repeat the same against Rajasthan Royals (RR) today. On conditions that seemed markedly different from how the Wankhede Stadium pitch had behaved in recent matches, the batsmen struggled to get going.

Jaydev Unadkat was the wrecker-in-chief for RR as he ran through DC’s top-order, removing Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane. It was ultimately left to Rishabh Pant to rescue the innings and steady the ship and that was exactly what he did. The wicketkeeper-captain came up with a half-century that included a 20-run over off Rahul Tewatia‘s bowling which helped take DC to a respectable total although he got run-out later.

Watch – Ravichandran Ashwin’s run-out

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin

Following Rishabh Pant’s dismissal, it was left to the all-rounders like Chris Woakes, Tom Curran and Ravichandran Ashwin to take DC to a good total and the trio managed to get some important runs for their side. Their batting capabilities were on display as they managed to thwart the RR bowlers for quite some time from picking up wickets.

Ravichandran Ashwin began his innings with a four over third-man before he was run-out while attempting a second run. David Miller at long-off produced an accurate throw as Sanju Samson whipped the bails off to find Ashwin short of the crease. Soon after the dismissal, Twitter reacted to the wicket. Here are some of the reactions.

Also Read: IPL 2021: Virender Sehwag’s sarcastic tweet on Suresh Raina receives backlash from CSK fans

Also Read: BCCI announces annual player contracts; Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah only players in A+ category