WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Danielle Collins vs Elena Rybakina Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Stream for San Jose Open

Danielle Collins and Elena Rybakina will clash against each other for the first time in their career in the quarter-finals at the 2021 San Jose Open.

Danielle Collins vs Elena Rybakina
Danielle Collins vs Elena Rybakina

World number 36 Danielle Collins will take on World number 20 Elena Rybakina in the quarter-finals of the Silicon Valley Classic 2021 on August 6th.

Match Details: Danielle Collins vs Elena Rybakina

  • Tournament: Silicon Valley Classic 2021
  • Match: Danielle Collins vs Elena Rybakina
  • Round: Quarter-final
  • Date: August 6th, 2021
  • Prize Money: $21,330
  • Venue: San Jose, California, USA
  • Surface: Outdoor Hard Court

Danielle Collins vs Elena Rybakina: Preview

elena rybakina
Elena Rybakina

Danielle Collins reached a career-high ranking of 23 in 2019 and won her maiden WTA Tour title earlier this year in Palermo. Collins last played at San Jose in 2019 where she was seeded number 8 and lost in the round of 16 against Saisai Zheng in straight sets, 2-6, 0-6. This year round, Collins is the number 8 seeded and has made it to the quarter-finals after defeating her fellow Americans in both the round of 32 and round of 16.

In the round of 32, Collins triumphed over Shelby Rogers in straight sets, 6-4, 6-3. In the round of 16, Collins got the better of Sloane Stephens in three sets. Collins lost the first set, 3-6, but came back much stronger to take the next two sets and the win, 6-4, 6-3.

The young 22-year-old, Elena Rybakina reached a career-high ranking of 17 in 2020 and has won 2 titles on the WTA Tour however, is yet to win one this year. Rybakina played extraordinarily well when she represented Kazakhstan at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. She lost to eventual Olympic Champion, Belinda Bencic in the semi-final and gave a tough fight to Elina Svitolina in the bronze medal match.

However, Rybakina was not able to triumph over Svitolina and came back home without a medal after losing in three sets, 6-1, 6-7 (5-7), 4-6. At the 2021 San Jose Open, Rybakina is the number 2 seed and faced Claire Liu in the round of 16. After dropping the first set, 2-6, Rybakina regained her focus to overcome Liu 6-0, 6-2.

 Danielle Collins vs Elena Rybakina: Head to Head

Danielle Collins
Danielle Collins

This will be the 1st meeting between the pair as they are yet to meet on the WTA Tour. Thus, their head to head tie is 0-0.

Danielle Collins vs Elena Rybakina: Prediction

Elena Rybakina will be at the Silicon Valley Classic 2021
Elena Rybakina

Both players have had a great run on the tour this year and look extremely confident at San Jose. Collins has a win-loss record of 22-9 this year, while, Rybakina has a record of 23-14. Rybakina proved her dominance on hard court at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics when she was so close to becoming an Olympic bronze medallist. However, she might be physically and mentally exhausted from playing at the Games.

Match Prediction: Rybakina to win in three sets.

Danielle Collins vs Elena Rybakina: Live Streaming and Where to Watch

Match Timings:

  • Japan: 11:00 am (August 7th)
  • Delhi: 7:30 am (August 7th)
  • New York: 10:00 pm
  • Melbourne: 12:00 pm (August 7th)
  • Brazil: 11:00 pm

Official Broadcasters:

The Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic is broadcast live on Tennis Channel and streamed on Tennis Channel Plus. It will also be televised by ESPN.

Silicon Valley Classic: Daria Kasatkina vs Magda Linette Preview, Head to Head, Prediction and Live Streams for San Jose Open