7 IPL Records That Can Never Be Broken‼


India’s biggest cricketing extravaganza – Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most celebrated tournaments around the globe. From Rohit Sharma scoring 8000 T20 runs to Sam Curran notching up a hat trick, we have glimpsed players to perform exceptionally well in the tournament. The tournament has gifted everything and so far so much that it has become synonymous with the lucrative T20 league.

While there are many amazing records held by cricketers around the world, some of them are just unbreakable in the coming future.

On that note, here are some of the records that are unbreakable in IPL:

Highest Individual Score

Chris Gayle nicknamed as ‘The Universal Boss’ is one of the best cricketers in the T20 format as his incredible records speak the same. When it comes to the Indian Premier League, Chris Gayle has some extraordinary records here as well. Chris Gayle holds the record of scoring the highest individual score[175].

During a match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Pune Warriors in 2013, Chris Gayle went on the score the highest individual score. Chris Gayle had gone on to score a whopping 175 runs, where he knocked 17 sixes and 13 fours.

Also Read 10 Guinness World Record’s in Cricket

Virat Kohli’s 973 runs in a season

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Virat Kohli is arguably the best among the current output of batsmen.

The franchise’s current skipper, Virat Kohli scored 937 runs in one single season. The wizardly runscorer was at his magical best scoring 937 runs from 16 games including four centuries – the highest by any batsmen in a single IPL edition.

He scored at an average of over 80 which included seven fifty+ scores. Kohli’s record is one which is almost impossible to break anytime soon.

Also Read UAE keeping itself ready in case IPL comes calling

Chris Gayle’s 30 Balls Century

Chris Gayle also holds the record for the fastest IPL ton. He achieved the same in just 30 balls. This came in the epic unbeaten 175-run knock against Pune Warriors India in 2013. The forenamed fastest century in IPL was achieved in 37 balls by Yusuf Pathan in the 2010 edition of the IPL.

During the knock, Gayle smacked 17 sixes – the most by any batsmen in an innings. It was one of the most amusing knocks of all time, and it is skeptical that any cricketer will be able to break it.

Also Read 5 Greatest Players with the best ‘Straight Drive’

The largest victory margin of 146 runs for Mumbai

In IPL, there have scarcely been games that have been completely one-sided given the number of potential in every team in the competition.

However, in 2017 edition, the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) batting line-up completely imploded while facing Mumbai Indians in a league match. The hosts eventually lost the encounter by a massive 146-run margin. 

Chasing a big total of 213, Delhi were shot out for 66 in a mere 13.4 overs.The trembling win in that match also confirmed that Mumbai, in the 2017 season, became the first team to qualify for the play-offs.

The victory margin of 146-runs for Mumbai is one of the biggest victories (by runs) in the IPL’s history.

Also Read 5 unbreakable records in Women’s Cricket

Highest team total (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

The Chinnaswamy franchise, RCB, which marked as one of the best teams of the tournament. Players like Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, and AB de Villiers have all been sensational for the club and have always produced some remarkable moments. In the 2013-season, RCB produced an extraordinary game as they took the Pune Warriors franchise to the cleaners and set them a target of 264 runs.

Chris Gayle was at his pinnacle as he scored an unbeaten 175 off just 66 balls in one of the most memorable innings in T20 cricket. A tardy 31 off just 8 balls from De Villiers made sure that they reach a target that will stay in the record books for a long time.

Also Read 5 Unexpected reasons which caused the cancellation of International cricket tours

Chennai Super Kings qualifying for Playoffs in all seasons they played

Chennai holds a unique record of entitling for the playoffs in all the seasons they have played so far. No other teams have managed to climb this feat. Since the conception of the league, Chennai under the leadership of MS Dhoni has attained in all the playoffs till 2015 before they were handed a suspension for their alleged role in match-fixing.

They couldn’t take part in the 2016 and 2017 edition of the league but returned in 2018 to qualify from the group stages and eventually winning the trophy. This is an extraordinary record for the Chennai franchise, and it will never be broken again.

Also Read 7 Times when ’07 Dhoni’ cost India a ‘Win’

Lowest team score

Surprised! Everything is possible when we talk about Royal Challengers Bangalore. The team that holds the highest team score and holds the record for the lowest team score too.

During the 2017 season of the game, RCB failed to cross the 50-run mark during the match, making it the lowest team record.

Also Read Top 5 Best Decisions Made by MS Dhoni ‘The Captain Cool’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here