IPL 2020 UAE: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Team Profile Overview, Stats, Auctions Analysis, Season-Wise Performance, Full Schedule and Squad


Chennai Super Kings is one of the most successful teams in the history of the Indian Premier League. They played in 10 out of 12 seasons, finishing with a playoff berth at all the 10 occasions. They have played eight finals so far and hold three titles as well.

The 13th edition of the IPL could be a bit tricky for them as a lot of players are missing from their squad. Initially, Deepak Chahar and Ruturaj Gaikwad found COVID-19 positive and then veteran players Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh pulled out from the upcoming season. 

Chennai Super Kings: Team Overview

CSK has once again decided to take the field with their same set of players. The likes of MS Dhoni, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Ravindra Jadeja, and Dwayne Bravo continue to form the core of the side.


The biggest strength for the Chennai-based franchise continues to be their skipper MS Dhoni. He will continue to lead the side from the front, and since he has retired from international cricket, means that there would be no added pressure on him. Apart from Dhoni, other members’ experience will continue to play a crucial role for Chennai Super Kings. 


As earlier mentioned, four players missing out from the CSK side will be a massive blow to them. Moreover, it has been a while since all the players competed in any format of cricket. This might concern the CSK team as the average age of this team is in the thirties, so it can be difficult for the players to quickly gel up.

Chennai Super Kings: Season Wise Performance

YearCaptainResultTop BatsmanRunsTop BowlerWickets
2019Mahendra Singh DhoniRunners UpMahendra Singh Dhoni416Imran Tahir26
2018Mahendra Singh DhoniChampionsAmbati Rayudu602Shardul Thakur16
2017Team Suspended
2016Team Suspended
2015Mahendra Singh DhoniRunners UpBrendon McCullum436Dwayne Bravo26
2014Mahendra Singh DhoniPlayoffsDwayne Smith566Mohit Sharma23
2013Mahendra Singh DhoniRunners UpMichael Hussey733Dwayne Bravo32
2012Mahendra Singh DhoniRunners UpSuresh Raina441Dwayne Bravo15
2011Mahendra Singh DhoniChampionsMichael Hussey492Ravichandran Ashwin20
2010Mahendra Singh DhoniChampionsSuresh Raina520Muttiah Muralitharan15
2009Mahendra Singh DhoniSemifinalsMatthew Hayden572Muttiah Muralitharan14
2008Mahendra Singh DhoniRunners UpSuresh Raina421Manpreet Gony17

Chennai Super Kings: Team Stats


  • Most Runs: Suresh Raina (4527)
  • Most 100s: Suresh Raina (2)
  • Most 50s: Suresh Raina (37)
  • Best Batting Average: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (42.20)
  • Best Strike Rate: Albie Morkel (142.53)
  • Most 6s: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (209)
  • Highest Individual Score: Murali Vijay (127)


  • Most Wickets: Ravi Ashwin (120)
  • Best Bowling Figures: Ravindra Jadeja (5/16)
  • Most 4 Wicket Hauls: Ravindra Jadeja (4+)
  • Most 5 Wicket Hauls: Ravindra Jadeja (1)

Chennai Super Kings: 2020 Auction Buys and Trades

Chennai Super Kings went to the IPL 2020 auctions table with a very less purse size. Moreover, they didn’t have any great requirements as all their boxes were already ticked. At this year’s auctions, CSK’s major buys came in the form of Josh Hazlewood (INR 2 cr), Sam Curran (INR 1 cr) and spinner Piyush Chawla for INR 1 cr. They also added young spinner R Sai Kishore for the base price of INR 20 lac.

Chennai Super Kings Full Squad for IPL 2020

MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina*, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Piyush Chawla, Dwayne Bravo, Sam Curran, Karn Sharma, Shane Watson, Shardul Thakur, Ambati Rayudu, Murali Vijay, Harbhajan Singh*, Josh Hazlewood, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, KM Asif, Narayan Jagadeesan, Monu Kumar, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and R. Sai Kishore

*Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh are not playing in IPL 2020

Chennai Super Kings Full Schedule for IPL 2020

  • September 19: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings, Abu Dhabi, 7:30 PM IST
  • September 22: Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings, Sharjah, 7:30 PM IST
  • September 25: Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals, Dubai, 7:30 PM IST
  • October 2: Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Dubai, 7:30 PM IST
  • October 4: Kings XI Punjab vs Chennai Super Kings, Dubai, 7:30 PM IST
  • October 7: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Chennai Super Kings, Abu Dhabi, 7:30 PM IST
  • October 10: Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, Dubai, 7:30 PM IST
  • October 13: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings, Dubai, 7:30 PM IST
  • October 17: Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings, Sharjah, 7:30 PM IST
  • October 19: Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals, Abu Dhabi, 7:30 PM IST
  • October 23: Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians, Sharjah, 7:30 PM IST
  • October 25: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings, Dubai, 3:30 PM IST
  • October 29: Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Dubai, 7:30 PM IST
  • November 1: Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab, Abu Dhabi, 3:30 PM IST

Also Read: IPL 2020 UAE: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Team Profile Overview, Stats, Auctions Analysis, Season-Wise Performance, Full Schedule and Squad 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here