What is follow-on rule in cricket and when can Australia enforce it in WTC Final?

For those unversed, Follow-on is a rule which applies only in Test cricket.


What is follow-on rule in cricket and when can Australia enforce it in WTC Final?

Pat Cummins, Rohit Sharma (Image via Twitter)

The World Test Championship (WTC) Final 2023 is underway in England, between India and Australia. India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and invited the Aussies to bat first and the Pat Cummins-led team obliged well. Australia put on a massive 469/10 in their first innings. Travis Head (163) and Steve Smith (121) were Australia’s men with the bat in hand. The batting pair also put on a massive 285-run partnership for the fourth wicket. 

Meanwhile, India yet again fumbled as their top-order batters failed to step up to the challenge, yet again. The top four batters were dismissed within 71 runs. Each of Rohit Sharma (15), Shubman Gill (13), Cheteshwar Pujara (14), and Virat Kohli (14) scored under 20 runs and failed to provide the start India needed in this big game.

ADVERTISEMENT

Although Ajinkya Rahane and Ravindra Jadeja put on a 71-run partnership for the fifth wicket, Australia enjoyed an upper hand till the end of Day 2’s play. Nathan Lyon took out Jadeja (48) who was looking to up the ante. The veteran off-spinner got the India all-rounder caught in slips. With Jadeja departing, fans sensed a follow-on is around the corner for India. 

Also Read: “When will Whyrat Kohli bat?”- Fans react as Cristiano Ronaldo’s die-hard fan IShowspeed spotted in stands wearing India’s jersey during WTC Final

What is the follow-on score in WTC Final?

ajinkya rahane wtc final
Ajinkya Rahane batting in WTC Final (Image via Twitter)

For those unversed, Follow-on is a rule which applies only in Test cricket. According to this rule in the Marylebone Cricket Club rule book, the side which bats first and leads by at least 200 runs shall have the option of requiring the other side to follow their innings. Also, the captain cannot reverse his decision once the opposition team is informed about it. 

ADVERTISEMENT

Now, coming to this match, the WTC Final, the follow-on score is 270. This means that India need to score at least 270 runs in their first innings to avoid a follow-on. If India fail to go past this score, Australia can ask to continue their inning. However, this is not mandatory. Pat Cummins can also opt to bat again if Australia want.

In case you missed!

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!