Karim Benzema and Thibaut Courtois Chasing Unique Real Madrid Record

Can they carry Madrid to success this season?

Real Madrid players

Spanish giants Real Madrid are yet to win both the Pichichi and Zamora awards in the same season since 1987/88, but this time the two Real Madrid stars, Karim Benzema and Thibaut Courtois are the clear favourites to clinch the two much-awaited accolades.

Real Madrid are currently top of the La Liga table and are six points clear of second-place Sevilla. Despite the poor display of football recently, the Los Blancos have managed to pile up three points and maintain their lead against Sevilla.

The Pichichi prize is awarded to the top scorer of the season in LaLiga Santander, while the best goalkeeper of the campaign receives the Zamora award. The last time Real Madrid

As of today, Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema and goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois are topping the rankings for the two prizes which are awarded by MARCA. Both of them demonstrated why they are regarded as favourites to win them this season during Real Madrid’s crucial 1-0 win against Rayo Vallecano.

Also read: WATCH: FC Barcelona Youngster Pedri Imitates Xavi’s Insane 2013 Skill

What do the stats say for both Real Madrid players?

Benzema and Courtois - FirstSportz
Karim Benzema and Thibaut Courtois Chasing Unique Real Madrid Record 2

The Frenchman has scored 19 goals and Courtois has managed to keep as many as 11 clean sheets in 26 games this season.

Benzema has 26 goals in all competitions for Real Madrid and France, with Robert Lewandowski (39) and Mohamed Salah (27) being the only players in Europe to have celebrated more goals.

For his part, Courtois is the fourth goalkeeper with the most stops in the five major leagues behind Manchester United‘s David De Gea, Bayer Leverkusen’s Lukas Hradecky and Eintracht Frankfurt’s Kevin Trapp.

However, the most remarkable figure is his 80 per cent success rate in saves, while the other three goalkeepers barely exceed the 70 per cent mark.

Courtois’ Zamora coefficient is 0.77 goals per game. His figures are far ahead of the 1.36 goals per game of last year’s winner Jan Oblak.

Also read: ‘You’re Not a Number 9 Cristiano’: Former Liverpool Star Explains How to Fix Manchester United