IPL 2020 KXIP vs CSK: Du Plessis Watson enough for KXIP as CSK cruise on for 10 wicket victory

CSK become the first side in IPL 2020 to chase a game successfully at Dubai International Stadium

Faf du Plessis(left) and Shane Watson for CSK

Chennai Super Kings(CSK) win by 10 wickets as openers Shane Watson and Faf du Plessis chase down 178 runs put by Kings XI Punjab(KXIP). CSK finally win their second game in IPL 2020 after a hat-trick of defeats. KXIP lose their fourth game of the season 10 wicket trashing by CSK.

CSK opening pair remained unbeaten on 83(Watson) and 87(du Plessis) as CSK cruised pass KXIP by 10 wickets. No bowler from KXIP could ask serious questions for CSK as both openers took the game away from them. KXIP had set set a target of 179 runs for CSK after winning the toss and electing to bat first.

Watson and Faf started the chase swiftly with under 7 runs per-over in the powerplay. After the powerplay the well-set duo started playing freely and scored runs with ease against KXIP bowlers. Both the batsman played 53 balls and scored 11 boundaries in the innings. KXIP bowling unit had a game to forget as every bowler conceded more than 30 runs and remained wicketless.

KL Rahul continues good form, leads the table for Orange Cap

KL Rahul in KXIP vs CSK

Kings XI Punjab(KXIP) won the toss and chose to bat first. KXIP skipper KL Rahul and compatriot Mayank Agarwal continued their blistering form in IPL 2020.  The Karnataka duo brought up another 50 run partnership in the IPL 2020. The pair made 61 run partnership before Agarwal was dismissed by Chawla in the eight over.

Rahul however did not stop and continued to play selective shots even as Mandeep and Nicholas Pooran played a cameo. Pooran made a balanced 33 off 16 balls while Mandeep playing his first game in IPL 2020 made 27 off 16. Shardul Thakur ended Rahul’s brilliant innings after picking up 2 wickets of Pooran and Rahul in 2 consecutive balls. In the final two overs, Glenn Maxwell and Sarfaraz Khan finished KXIP innings to 178/4 at the end of 20 overs.

Thakur picked two wickets, while Chawla and Jadeja managed to take one each. DJ Bravo, Chahar and Curran remained wicketless in thier limited overs.

CSK have bounced back after losing three games in a row in IPL 2020. CSK now has two winners and three losses in five games. KXIP on the other hand have managed to win only one game in IPL 2020 against RCB.

Also Read:IPL 2020 MI vs SRH: Defending champions Mumbai Indians defend 208 runs after Sunrisers Hyderabad batting collapse


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here