IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians (MI) vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Preview, Probable XI, Head-to-Head and Fantasy 11

Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad are placed neck-to-neck with seven victories each in their previous 14 encounters.

MI vs SRH preview
MI vs RCB preview

Defending champions Mumbai Indians will lock horns against David Warner-led Sunrisers Hyderabad in match 17 of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020. The Sharjah Cricket Stadium of Sharjah will host the game on October 4 (Sunday) from 3:30 PM (IST) onwards.

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Mumbai Indians - FirstSportz
Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians have shown so far in this series why they are the defending champions. They are placed amongst the top four sides of the tournament with two wins out of four games. MI registered a comprehensive victory in their last match against Kings XI Punjab.

The four-time IPL champions form one of the most balanced sides of this edition. They are believed to make the least changes in their playing XI unless it’s necessary. As a result, we might get to see Nathan Coulter-Nile or Mitchell McCleneghan giving James Pattinson some rest ahead of the long tournament. Otherwise, they might continue with the same XI in this match as well.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Sunrisers Hyderabad
SRH players

Sunrisers Hyderabad made a terrific comeback in this tournament after losing their first two games. David Warner and co. registered a big win in their last encounter after defeating three-time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings.

Another major plus for them in this season is the way their youngsters have performed so far. Players like Abhishek Sharma, Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad and T Natarajan have delivered under pressure situations. But a massive blow hit them in the last game when Bhuvneshwar Kumar got injured. If he is unavailable in this game, Sidharth Kaul or Sandeep Sharma might get a chance to play.

Match Details

Date: October 4, 2020

Time: 3:30 PM onwards (IST)

Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah 

Also Read | IPL 2020 RCB vs RR: Chahal, Padikkal and Kohli star as RCB beat RR by 8 wickets


Mumbai Indians Full Squad

Rohit Sharma (C), Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Chris Lynn, Dhawal Kulkarni, Digvijay Deshmukh, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, James Pattison, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mohsin Khan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Prince Balwant Rai, Quinton De Kock, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Sherfane Rutherford, Suryakumar Yadav, Trent Boult

Sunrisers Hyderabad Full Squad

David Warner (C), Jonny Bairstow, Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Shreevats Goswami, Virat Singh, Priyam Garg, Wriddhiman Saha, Abdul Samad, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Jason Holder, Abhishek Sharma, B Sandeep, Sanjay Yadav, Fabian Allen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddharth Kaul, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Basil Thampi

Ideal Playing XIs

Mumbai Indians Playing XI

  •  Rohit Sharma (C)
  • Quinton de Kock (WK)
  • Ishan Kishan
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Krunal Pandya
  • Rahul Chahar
  • James Pattinson/Nathan Coulter-Nile/Mitchell McCleneghan
  • Trent Boult
  • Jasprit Bumrah

Sunrisers Hyderabad Playing XI

  • David Warner (C)
  • Jonny Bairstow (WK)
  • Manish Pandey
  • Kane Williamson
  • Priyam Garg
  • Abdul Samad
  • Abhishek Sharma
  • Rashid Khan
  • Sandeep Sharma/Siddarth Kaul
  • Khaleel Ahmed
  • T Natarajan


Total matches played: 14

DC won: 7

KKR won: 7

No Result: 0

Tie: 0

Fantasy XI


  • Ishan Kishan 
  • Jonny Bairstow (c)


  • Rohit Sharma
  • David Warner
  • Priyam Garg


  • Kieron Pollard (vc)
  • Hardik Pandya


  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Rashid Khan
  • T Natarajan
  • Rahul Chahar

Key Players

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Jonny Bairstow, David Warner, Rashid Khan

Also Read | ‘Form is temporary, Class is permanent’ Twitter erupts as Virat Kohli Completes 5500 runs in IPL